Book Review: LIFE by Cassandra Webb

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

Title: LIFE
Author: Cassandra Webb
Published: July 23, 2012
Publisher: Cassandra Webb
Format: Kindle Edition
Series: The Kemla Saga #1
Acquisition: From the author

Purchase at: Amazon

Kemla is a teenager living in the Summer’s Mountains. 
She’s quick witted, not shy of action and smart however life outside the protective circle where she lives is all but beyond her reach. Then one day she’s kidnapped by slave traders, helped by magic and learns to trust. All the while she’s trying to avoid her past. 
Kemla has an uncanny magical connection with her partner in crime, her horse, together they are so strong that in intense moments their souls join and two become one. Magic isn’t just a part of her life, it is who she is. FireMagic runs through her veins, the lightning has always called to her. 
How is it that until now she’s didn’t even know she had magic? Perhaps because magic is far from considered a gift in Summers Realm, it’s a curse and is punishable by death.

banner-book-babble

After reading the book, I was surprised to find that anyone can read this book online through Cassandra Webb’s blog, Life. Family. Magic., yet she gave me a copy directly from Amazon. This does not, however, affect my review in anyway. But I’m truly grateful for it because I certainly enjoyed the book.

The book definitely needs proofreading – there were just too many typos. But once you look past all of those, the story was definitely entertaining. I honestly didn’t know what I should have expected from this book. I judged the book by its cover, but the cover definitely doesn’t do it justice. It’s one that is beautiful in the inside.

Kemla has been living hidden in the mountains for most of her life. Her family needed to go in hiding because magic has been prohibited by their realm, and her mother definitely has magic in her. Kemla’s mother used her abilities to hide their location in the mountains. Over the course of them living there, they have adopted a couple of children who had no where else to go to. Since they were only masked by sight, they had to remain silent most of the time so that they wouldn’t be found. So Kemla developed a way to speak and connect with her horse, Lii. I found that part really interesting – how they’re both so in tune with each other.

One day, her sister and some other children were captured by slave traders. As the eldest (not counting her mother), Kemla took responsibility and went after them. She was successful in saving them, but in turn, she got captured. Now Kemla must find a way to escape from the slave traders, but it’s definitely not going to be easy.

There’s the mysterious mage, Leon. I honestly don’t know what I should think of him, but I may have developed Stockholm syndrome for him. He’s part of the slave traders group that took Kemla, but unlike the slave traders, Leon doesn’t like hunting for children to coerce them into slavery and he doesn’t like mistreating them either. He’s trying very hard to keep Kemla alive and unharmed, yet he wouldn’t allow her to escape. I’m definitely interested in this character, and at the end of the book, I wanted to know more about him. I hope I see more of him in the sequels.

I like Kemla and Leon, and the rest of the characters were definitely an interesting bunch.  I like how the characters can be complicated (i.e. kidnapping children yet having their own families, not wanting to escape from slavery because she doesn’t want to go home, etc.) I like the thoughts put into the situations in the story. I like how most of the chapters are entitled “Life…” (i.e. Life as a slave, Life with magic, Life as a channeler, etc.). The ending was a little anticlimactic, but I liked it in a sense.

I can assure you that this book is good enough that I checked up on what’s coming next. Book 2 isn’t fully done yet though so, but it would be published in a few days or weeks. I think I would just wait for it before actually reading the book because I’m not really fond of reading on my computer. I snuck a peek though and saw a new character. I didn’t want to spoil myself any further so I stopped looking.

**************************************************

OVERALL, I was pleasantly surprised by this book. It’s not one that should be judged by its cover because it’s definitely far better. The story follows Kemla’s journey as a captive slave where she learns more about herself and her abilities. With the help of her horse, Lii, and the mysterious mage, Leon, she’s able to persist in achieving her freedom. There are compelling characters, interesting concepts, and a good plot line. It’s not perfect, but I thoroughly enjoyed it, and I want to know more about the characters, magic, and realms in this series. I would certainly like to read the next book.

RATING:

4-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
2 thoughts on “Book Review: LIFE by Cassandra Webb

  1. Pingback: Me and Messy 3 | A Magical Saga . com

  2. Pingback: A New Review for amagicalsaga.com |

Leave a Reply

