Book Review: Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan

mm-one-only-october

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

favoriteTitle: Boy Meets Boy
Author: David Levithan
Publication Date: September 9, 2003
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Series: N/A
Format: eARC
Acquisition: Netgalley

Purchase at: Amazon

This is the story of Paul, a sophomore at a high school like no other: The cheerleaders ride Harleys, the homecoming queen used to be a guy named Daryl (she now prefers Infinite Darlene and is also the star quarterback), and the gay-straight alliance was formed to help the straight kids learn how to dance. 
When Paul meets Noah, he thinks he’s found the one his heart is made for. Until he blows it. The school bookie says the odds are 12-to-1 against him getting Noah back, but Paul’s not giving up without playing his love really loud. His best friend Joni might be drifting away, his other best friend Tony might be dealing with ultra-religious parents, and his ex-boyfriend Kyle might not be going away anytime soon, but sometimes everything needs to fall apart before it can really fit together right.
This is a happy-meaningful romantic comedy about finding love, losing love, and doing what it takes to get love back in a crazy-wonderful world.

banner-book-babble

This is the second time I read this book, and I cannot believe that I still remember most of it, yet I was still deeply moved by David Levithan’s beautiful writing. I think I really liked it better the second time around when I really opened up myself to the characters and their experiences.

Paul lives in a really great world. He is an openly gay boy who has two really great friends, Joni and Tony. His parents and brother, Jay, are really nice to him. He has it easy, but things change when he meets Noah, the person who would make him feel more than he could ever imagine. It was innocent, young love. But just as it was getting good, the other parts of Paul’s life starts getting bad and everything will go tumbling down, even his relationship with Noah.

I honestly like the whole development of the story. Paul did stupid things, which were really wrong and I hated him for them. But with the help of some people, he was able to find himself again. I like how the rest of the characters were given so much personality as well. I think a personal favorite would have to be Infinite Darlene, the star quarterback who is also the homecoming queen. She’s just really different and out there, but she also had a good heart and she looked out for her friends. I also liked Noah’s younger sister, Claudia, who had this tough exterior but also had this sweet side underneath that really looked out for Noah. Tony is also really special. He’s quiet and reserved, but he’s a really good friend to Paul and he would learn to make a stand for himself. I also like Noah’s sensitive and artistic sense. I guess there is just really much to love about this book.

I like the part when Paul showed his love, and it made me feel like wanting to do something like it someday if I meet the right person for it. And the ending just blew me away. I think the best way to describe it is the feeling of being infinite as Charlie would say it in The Perks of Being a Wallflower. It was simple, yet truly wonderful. It gave me those amazing fluttery feelings that made me feel like I was really in that moment.

**************************************************

OVERALL, Boy Meets Boy is a wonderful book that made me laugh, touched my heart, and left me inspired. I easily got lost in Levithan’s witty, poetic, and humorous writing. The characters were easy to fall in love with as they show their own unique voices in the story. It’s a perfect light and fluffy read that really made me feel good in the end. I would recommend it to people who love YA Contemporary Romances.

RATING:

5-star

P.S. Thanks to HarperCollins Publishers and Netgalley for my copy~

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
3 thoughts on “Book Review: Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan

  1. Pingback: Oh, the Books! Bookish Guides: A Heart-Shaped Box of YA Romance | Oh, the Books!

Leave a Reply

