ARC Review: Streaks of Blue by Jack Chaucer

mm-one-only-october

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

Title: Streaks of Blue
Author: Jack Chaucer
Publication Date: September 27, 2013
Publisher: CreateSpace
Series: N/A
Format: eARC
Acquisition: Netgalley

Purchase at: Amazon

Adam Upton and Thomas “Lee” Harvey are plotting the next big school massacre at their New Hampshire high school. Nicole Janicek, who knew Adam in elementary school, tries to reconnect with the damaged teen at the start of their senior year. 
But will Nicole’s attempt to befriend the would-be killer disrupt the plot and turn Adam’s life around before the clock strikes 12:14?

banner-book-babble

I’m not really sure what I expected from this book when I first requested it. I think was mostly blinded by the beautiful cover. I just love her hair. And I guess I found the synopsis kind of interesting – a girl stopping a mass murder.

Nicole Janicek is living a well off, comfortable life. She does well in school. So when she starts befriending Adam Upton, a social outcast, everyone else is a little skeptical about the new arrangement. It definitely won’t be easy for Nicole, especially since Adam has been dealing with a lot of things in his life.

Streaks of Blue addresses different life situations that affect how a person comes to be. We always have a choice in life, but sometimes we also need guidance. We all need a little or a lot of help sometimes. It also talks about people who judge others so easily. And it also talks about the need to reach out sometimes. I like the philosophical undertones and the development of the story.

**************************************************

OVERALL, Streaks of Blue is a story about how Nicole Janicek learns to step out of her comfort zone in order to save the people of New Hampshire high school. It definitely wasn’t easy for her as these exact same people looked down on her or discouraged her, and Adam Upton also made it really difficult for her. It is laced with a little humor, a lot of love, and an abundance of thought. I think it is a story that really means well.

RATING:

4-star

P.S. Thanks to CreateSpace and Netgalley for my copy~

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
5 thoughts on “ARC Review: Streaks of Blue by Jack Chaucer

  1. This book intrigues me, but at the same time, I feel like it’s manipulative what with the ‘How the Angels of Newtown Inspired One Girl To Save Her School’ aspect. I get that the author probably wanted to draw from what happened at Newtown since it’s still so fresh in everyone’s mind, rather than, for example, the Columbine shooting which happened almost fifteen years ago, but it still leaves a bitter taste in my mouth whenever I go to add it to my Goodreads shelf :\

    • I got that feeling too actually, and the Columbine shooting was mentioned too if I remember correctly. I think the book is for a good cause though. I heard the proceeds would go to a foundation or something connected to the Newton victims.

      • Oh yeah, definitely for a good cause and a good thought because there should be books on the subject, but I’m just not sure the writer went the right way with it. As such, if I do give this book a chance, I don’t think it’ll be for a few years. :\

  2. Pingback: ARC Review: Streaks of Blue by Jack Chaucer | jackchaucerbooks

  3. Yup the cover is soooo pretty and the title is great too. Love the look of it. Adding it to my TBR shelf and hopefully I’ll be able to read it soon.

Leave a Reply

