Book Review: My Side by Tara Brown

mm-na-november

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

Title: My Side
Author: Tara Brown
Publication Date: May 28, 2013
Publisher: Tara Brown Publishing
Series: N/A
Format: Kindle edition
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

Erin Benson felt like she’d won the lottery when she arrived all the way from North Dakota with the keys to her first home in hand.
Crisp white walls: Check. 
Breathtaking view of downtown Boston: Check. 
Minutes from Northeastern School of Law: Check.
But home is not always where the heart is. Sometimes it’s where you find Mr. Random shacked up and sprawled out on what was supposed to be your new bed.
Between the bear spray and the handcuffs, she discovers a terrible mistake has been made.
Lochlan hasn’t broken into her new home to sleep with a seedy barmaid…he owns half.
With emotions running on high, Erin is determined to tough it out until a solution can be found.
The tight quarters seem smaller with his accumulated clutter and bizarre sleeping schedule. It also doesn’t help that he’s the new lead singer for Thin Ice, an indie band on its rise to fame.
What happens when a quiet bookworm gets stuck with a relentless rocker?
What happens when the things you see are not the things you get?

banner-book-babble

Just like Erin and Loch’s push-and-pull relationship, so were my feelings for this book. I bought an ebook of My Side mostly because it was cheap and it looked like a fun read judging by its cover. I guess in a way it delivered the fun, but there were also other aspects to the book. Sometimes their actions would be borderline ridiculous that I couldn’t help but be annoyed or roll my eyes. But there were times that they would be really entertaining, funny, and/or sweet that I felt all warm and fuzzy enough to love them. I guess this was a really confusing book for me. And the characters probably are as confused.

Erin had her whole life mapped out the way she wanted it. Focus on law school and graduate. Work really hard and buy her dream home and car. She’s a little bit of a control freak. But things don’t go according to plan when the realtor company made a mistake on the lease of her apartment. They allowed her and Lochlan to both sign in and rent the place. Unfortunately (or not), there were no other places as nice as that apartment so they had to stick with each other for a while.

Erin earned most, if not all, of my eye rolls while reading. She keeps on running away every chance she gets. I can’t even count how many times she did that. Thankfully, there would be people who would put some sense into her. For a smart girl who is also a bookworm, she certainly does a lot of stupid things. Throughout the book, all I wanted for her was to get a grip on herself. I don’t like how she allowed her parents to shape up who she has become as a person and I think it was important for her to truly find herself.

Loch has been a womanizer before he met Erin. Being famous and part of a band, easily lands him easy access to a lot of women. It also helps that he can easily turn on his charm. But behind the celebrity façade is a sweet and sensitive guy. He’s certainly not perfect though. He has ADHD and a past that shaped up what kind of person he is now. He has temper issues to deal with, and he’s easily distracted. He sometimes takes things to the extreme. But once I got to know him, I liked him more and more. I thin what’s special about him is that he knows how to love, even if it’s in his own way which not everyone can easily understand.

Some side characters that I liked were Gerry, the drummer, and Dean, Erin’s law professor. They were both really great friends to Erin, and their relationship was pretty sweet. I just wish more was shown about them, but I think that would have been hard with Erin’s selfishness.

The flow of the story had its ups and downs, but I found myself reading it effortlessly. Erin was annoying but not to the point that I hated this book. I was expecting more fighting about the apartment though, but it was more about trying to live as roommates and not crossing the path to an awkward relationship. But of course there’s an undeniable attraction and sexual tension between them so it gets tricky. It also deals with a couple of family issues, and learning to find one’s self.

**************************************************

OVERALLMy Side was a fun and satisfying read. The characters would be best appreciated after learning more about them considering the ups and downs of their actions and tempers. But I think it’s safe to say that I liked them all in the end. Smooth sailing is not to be expected of this book, but I think that some issues were somehow solved throughout. I got pretty torn up about this book, but I was able to mostly enjoy it despite the parts that I didn’t like. This book is funny and romantic with some pieces of drama.

RATING:

3.5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
Leave a Reply

