What I feel about New Adult

mm-na-november
banner-random-ramblings

Random Ramblings: Talking about random thoughts on books, blogging, myself, the world, etc. Anything under the sun~

break-1

So this month was supposed to be New Adult month and I was supposed to write a book review for today, but I couldn’t bring myself to finish the book. And I was thinking about how some NA books are really good and some aren’t that great. I personally shy away from NA books normally, but there are some that I try out because others swear they’re really good. There’s maybe less than 10% NA books in my collection of books and I only got them because people said they were good. Some are. Some aren’t.

I think what I dislike about NA is that it’s very heavy and intense. There’s so much drama and sex. And I’m a person who like feeling light and happy and carefree. The heaviness of some NA books just bring me down. And I’m someone who doesn’t like feeling down so much. The book that I was supposed to review today started out with the main character being so out of herself because of losing the love of her life. She was so dysfunctional and suicidal. And this was a highly rated book. That was a big reason why I chose to read it. But about 30% of the beginning was so heavy that I couldn’t bring myself to go on much further. I will try to finish the book though so maybe it will get better, but it’s not something I can read quickly and effortlessly.

Certain issues are also presented in Young Adult books, but I think the difference is that NA is a lot more open about it all. It deals with more serious issues, and is more intense about it. NA books are usually full of broken people, and deals a lot on how they try to find themselves or fix themselves. I guess I kind of get that. I’m at that age, and I also have my own personal struggles. So it’s hard seeing these other characters dealing with so much. And sometimes we just need an escape from so much drama. Sometimes it gets really annoying and horrible when they act so selfishly, but I guess it also presents a good contrast to how much they change. But going through all that is very difficult for me, especially if the book is so serious. Sometimes it’s illogical and badly written too.

I personally feel that it’s very hard to find NA books that I would really love. I think the ones that I tend to like are the ones that insert a lot of humor into the book. A breather is very important in all the intensity. Really good stories and characters are also something I like finding. I like finding people who can still function well enough to do things and make jokes and laugh or whatever despite whatever they go through. I don’t mean to be crass, but we all deal with things. I don’t think it gives us a reason to be horrible people. I like finding those that can be both fun yet heart-breaking. It’s funny how I like emotional roller coaster rides, yet I’m badly afraid of the real thing. But I think it is important to be able to show ups and downs in a story.

Overall, I’m not really generalizing that all NA books are horrible and should be avoided. I think that there are just certain aspects about it that makes it disagreeable sometimes. I’ve found myself to both love and hate books in this category, and it’s usually a hit and miss for me. Most NA books are in the contemporary romance genre, which is a genre I love, so I like taking my chances sometimes and trying them out. But I think I would stick to the ones that look light (i.e. Two Roads by L.M. Augustine and Romancing the Bookworm by Kate Evangelista) instead of the dramatic ones. But then again there was Hopeless by Colleen Hoover, which was very intense, yet was a really great read. All in all, I think it comes down to the writing. Like all other books designed for different age groups, not all books would agree with a person. It’s all still a matter of personal taste.

That’s all for me for now. I’d love to know what others think about this too.

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

6 thoughts on “What I feel about New Adult

  1. I honestly don’t know if I’ve read a legitimate New Adult novel considering there aren’t separate sections for them in bookstores (online or physical). Seriously, how do you find a legitimate list rather than just reader-made lists on Goodreads that might not be all that accurate?

    But, yeah, I tend more toward lighthearted reads as well. I don’t need all that extra drama when most of the time I read to get out of my head. The idea of more sex scenes doesn’t enthuse me either since I can’t believe all of them are going to be necessary to plot and/or character development. Unless those are just to try and lighten the more dismal parts?

    Like I said, I don’t know that I’ve ever read a New Adult book so this comment is more me speculating than anything else XD

    • As far as I know, NA books are Mature YA books. Characters are usually at around 18-25. Normally in college or just out of it. Something like that. XD

      Although it’s strange how a couple of erotica books are labelled under this when they look like they should be in the adult section.

      • Yeah, I saw a list of NA books on Goodreads that included the 50 Shades trilogy and at first I was like ‘what?’ but then I realized that the main character is in that age range. I think it really is just a huge mixed bag at this point since it hasn’t been made an official age group the way there are sections for YA and Children’s.

  2. I really wish I could insert gifs into comments, because this deserves a standing ovation and I’m not there to give you one but just AMEN to all of this.

    I hadn’t thought about it like this before, but I really think you hit it perfectly when you say it’s too heavy. I always complain about the sex, but honestly it doesn’t bother me that much when it’s well balanced with the other parts of the books. And you are exactly right: I always hate the sex because it’s an escape, or a drug of sorts, for the characters trying to deal with their problems in all the wrong ways.

    I mean, sex is supposed to make you feel closer to someone, and strengthen a relationship (of course, speaking completely hypothetically here, since… yeah *shrugs*), but in NA I always see it as a “maybe if we just knock boots one more time everything will go away” and everyone ends up even more broken than before.

    Seriously, if anyone asks me what my problem with the NA genre is, I’ll point them to this post. All the awards, Francine.

    • Oh my gosh. Thank you so much. You just made my day. 😀

      Yeah. I actually don’t understand how sex is supposed to help them out in tough times. Maybe if their problem is lack of intimacy or something like that. But how can sex make you feel whole or complete? I don’t get that. I don’t get how being able to vocalize your sexual wants or needs helps a person.

Leave a Reply

