#EntanglementBlogTour : Excerpt & Giveaway

entanglementbanner

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

Title: Entanglement
Author: Dan Rix
Date of Publication: November 16, 2012
Genre: YA sci-fi romance

Purchase linkAmazon

Acquisition: Oops! I Read Again Tours

“…the scientific explanation is quantum entanglement, whereby the boy and girl—even when separated by great distances—react instantaneously to changes in each other’s states…” —Dr. Casler Selavio, on the entanglement of halves.
In a world like ours, humans are born in pairs. When a newborn boy takes his first breath in the coastal town of Tularosa, the exact time is noted, recorded in the Registry, and later compared to the birth times of other newborns around the globe. There will be one identical match—his half. They will meet on their eighteenth birthday and they will spend their lives together. Except this time, there is no match.
Hotheaded heartthrob Aaron Harper is scheduled to meet his half in twenty-nine days, and he doesn’t buy a word of that entanglement crap. So what if he and his half were born the same day and share a spooky psychic connection? Big deal. After breaking one too many teenage girls’ hearts, he’ll stick to brawling with the douchebag rugby players any day.
Until the day a new girl arrives at school and threatens everything he takes for granted.
Cold and unapproachable, Amber Lilian hates the growing list of similarities between her and the one boy she can’t read, Aaron: born the same day, both stubborn, both terrified of meeting their halves. . . . All the more reason not to trust him. That she would rather die than surrender herself as her half’s property is none of his damn business. But once lost in Aaron’s dangerous, jet black eyes, she’s already surrendered more than she cares to admit.
Tangled in each other’s self-destructive lives, Aaron and Amber learn the secret behind their linked births and why they feel like halves—but unless they can prove it before they turn eighteen, Aaron faces a lifetime alone in a world where everyone else has a soul mate . . . and he’ll have to watch Amber give herself to a boy who intends to possess not only her body but also a chunk of her soul.
ENTANGLEMENT, a 75,000 word YA thriller, will appeal to readers of Michael Grant’s GONE and Ally Condie’s MATCHED.

This is a book that has been on my TBR list for a while now. I even have a copy on my Kindle. It’s just that Ii haven’t found the time to actually read it, but I joined the tour anyway. I was given a list of 6 excerpts and I loved each one of them so I’m more excited about reading this book. Unfortunately, I can’t post all 6 excerpts so I chose the one that I think is the most intriguing. Maybe the rest of the tour hosts would post the other excerpts too so that would be something to look forward to. And there will be reviews too. Anyway, without further ado~

break-1

Entanglement by Dan Rix (Excerpt)

“I won’t drown you for talking to Amber,” said Clive, after they caught their breath, “but do me a favor, okay? Don’t go near her again.”

“How about you quit treating her like dirt,” said Aaron.

Clive snickered. “Number eleven, you know better than to tell a man how to treat his own half.”

“Too bad she’s not your half,” said Aaron. “She’s only seventeen.”

“Yeah, but we were both born on March thirtieth.”

Aaron spat into the water, cleansing the salty taste from his mouth. “Then it sounds like we got a problem, Clive, because I also was born on March thirtieth.”

Clive faced him abruptly, sinking his face into shadow so only the glint of his pale, unblinking eyes shone in the darkness. As a passing swell tugged at Aaron’s feet and weakened his grip on the buoy, he wondered if he could defend himself if Clive tried to kill him right now.

“I’m only going to tell you this one more time,” said Clive finally. “Don’t go near her again.”

“Or else what?” said Aaron.

“Tell me you have a smarter question.”

“Yeah, one. What’s in your pocket?”

To Aaron’s surprise, Clive actually reached into the water and pulled it out. Aaron thought the bright object was, in fact, a glow stick, until he leaned closer.

It was a glass vial, rounded at both ends so it was completely sealed. Inside, a glowing red liquid crawled along the glass.

“Do you know what this is?” said Clive, smirking, his face now fully illuminated.

“Plasma?”

“This is what drips out when you cut a hole in your clairvoyant channel.”

Aaron felt a wave of cold, separate from the ocean. “Is it yours?

Clive shook his head. “Whosever it is, they’re sorely missing it right now. Want to hold it?”

Aaron took the vial from Clive, but when the glass touched his skin, the sudden stabbing at the back of his scalp nearly made him drop it, like something trying to exit his head through too small a hole. The red fluid scurried inside of the vial, forming tendrils, as if searching for cracks. And Aaron had the impression that the vial was somehow filling up, glowing brighter and brighter, too bright to look at—

“Hey, how’d you do that?” said Clive.

“Hold on,” said Aaron, now mesmerized by the luminous substance. The glass, he noticed, was stamped with some sort of ID code.

“Give it back—” Clive lunged for the vial.

Aaron held it out of reach, straining to make out the letters, but Clive caught his wrist. The impact splayed Aaron’s fingers wide open, and in slow motion, the vial flew from Aaron’s palm, bounced off the buoy, and plopped into the water.

break-1

dan rixDan Rix lives in Santa Barbara, California with his fiancée, paranormal romance author Laura Thalassa. He started writing his first novel in college while procrastinating his architecture studio work.
Author Links
Blog: danrixauthor.com
Twitter: @DanRixAuthor
Facebook: Dan Rix
Goodreads: Dan Rix – YA Author Newsletter

banner-giveaway

SIGNED paperback of Entanglement (US ONLY)
5 eBooks of Entanglement (INT)

break-1

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s