Book Review: Wait For You by J. Lynn

mm-na-november

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

Title: Wait for You
Author: J. Lynn
Publication Date: February 25, 2013
Publisher: Avon
Series: Wait for You #1
Format: Kindle edition
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

Some things are worth waiting for…
Traveling thousands of miles from home to enter college is the only way nineteen-year-old Avery Morgansten can escape what happened at the Halloween party five years ago—an event that forever changed her life. All she needs to do is make it to her classes on time, make sure the bracelet on her left wrist stays in place, not draw any attention to herself, and maybe—please God—make a few friends, because surely that would be a nice change of pace. The one thing she didn’t need and never planned on was capturing the attention of the one guy who could shatter the precarious future she’s building for herself.
Some things are worth experiencing…
Cameron Hamilton is six feet and three inches of swoon-worthy hotness, complete with a pair of striking blue eyes and a remarkable ability to make her want things she believed were irrevocably stolen from her. She knows she needs to stay away from him, but Cam is freaking everywhere, with his charm, his witty banter, and that damn dimple that’s just so… so lickable. Getting involved with him is dangerous, but when ignoring the simmering tension that sparks whenever they are around each other becomes impossible, he brings out a side of her she never knew existed.
Some things should never be kept quiet…
But when Avery starts receiving threatening emails and phone calls forcing her to face a past she wants silenced, she’s has no other choice but to acknowledge that someone is refusing to allow her to let go of that night when everything changed. When the devastating truth comes out, will she resurface this time with one less scar? And can Cam be there to help her or will he be dragged down with her?
And some things are worth fighting for…

banner-book-babble

This review is more for my re-read of the book. I read this book months ago so I pretty much knew what I was getting into when I started reading it this month. However, I was not expecting it to be more painful or heartbreaking the second time around. I think it was my understanding of their background stories explaining their behaviors that made me empathize with the characters, Avery and Cam.

Avery moved thousands of miles away from her home in Texas to get away from all the staring, the gossip, the harassments, and other bad things in her life. She gained the opportunity to start fresh in her first year in college in West Virginia. She meets new friends and a gorgeous man that would make her feel all fluttery inside. But most often than not, we can’t simply run away from our pasts.

When I first read this book, I didn’t know whether I wanted to hurt Avery or hold her close, but I was able to understand how she can easily push people away. I know that the burden she carries is really something that can’t easily be taken away. It’s just bad that she only comes to terms when situations had become severe. But I think the important thing is really what she did with the now – what she was able to do to come to terms with all the hurt she’s been keeping inside.

My favorite part about re-reading this book was Avery and Cam’s romantic relationship. They’re been attracted to each other ever since the start, but Avery wanted nothing but to resist the undeniable attractive man who keeps bothering her. I like their playful conversations that kept me laughing. I like how Cam never tried stopping to get Avery to go out with him or do things with him, but he’s also respectful when necessary. I like how they developed an understanding between the two of them and just sort of fell into place in each other’s lives.

Oh, and I also love their friends. Avery’s new found friends Brit and Jacob were really nice. I liked how open they are about who they are. Jacob is just hilarious when he talks about Cam and what Avery should do with him because he wants to vicariously live through her. He doesn’t give the best advice, but he’s definitely entertaining. Brit is more able to understand Avery and her insecurities, and she’s able to read more into Avery and gives Avery chances to open up. I also liked Ollie because he was also really funny. And I love Raphael, the tortoise, and his relationship with Cam and Ollie.

**************************************************

OVERALL, Wait for You was both painful and endearing. It had a lot of emotional ups and downs as Avery and Cam learn to break down the walls that keep them apart no matter how badly it may hurt. Avery must learn to deal with her past and learn to trust the patient man in front of her before it’s too late. Fortunately, Cam is wonderful, and I just love how Cam really cared about Avery. I loved all the characters that made me laugh and feel for them. I think that this was a pretty great read, albeit having a heavy side.

RATING:

4-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
Leave a Reply

