#SamCruzBlogTour + GIVEAWAY: Interview with Tellulah Darling

sam cruz banner

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

Title: Sam Cruz’s Infallible Guide to Getting Girls
Author: Tellulah Darling
Publisher: Te Da Media
Date of Publication: October 17, 2012

Purchase linkAmazon | B&N | iTunes | Kobo

Why the hell can’t chicks be more like guys?
That question plagues high school senior Sam Cruz. Sam is perfectly happy being a player. He just wishes girls wouldn’t change the game from sex to relationships. It makes him look like an asshole. But when Sam’s best friend, Ally Klinger, gets dumped, she begs him to transform her into someone who can screw around then screw off. No risk of heartbreak that way. It’s Sam’s chance to create the perfect female AND cheer up his best friend. Armed with Sam’s Three Step Guide to Backseat Success, Ally gets the game better than Sam thought she would and before long, Sam has his wish: the female version of himself. Too bad it’s driving him nuts. Told from Sam’s and Ally’s alternating POVs, Sam Cruz’s Infallible Guide to Getting Girls is a fast-paced YA romantic comedy that follows these teens as they navigate the minefield of sex, love, and friendship.
This contemporary teen romance contains strong language, drinking, euphemisms, and lots of “bow chicka wow wow.”

banner-author-appearance

I’ve read Sam Cruz’s Infallible Guide to Getting Girls and reviewed it a few months ago, and I think that it was a very enjoyable read. So I’m very excited to have Tellulah Darling over at the blog today. So without further ado~

break-1

Hi Tellulah! Can I just say, I love your name so much!

Why thank you, kindly. And hello to you too. J

About Tellulah Darling…

So, is that really your real name? 😛

It’s my more fabulous name. That makes it real, right? *grin*

Let’s start with something simple. Please tell us something about yourself.

Here are few fun facts. I’ve been writing forever. I wrote fan fic back before it was even called that and it was soooo terrible. Writing angsty teen poetry probably would have been a step up. I am too lazy to actually learn lyrics to songs so I sing everything phonetically. This means that most songs make absolutely no sense the way I sing them. I write smart, mouthy teen girls. I was one and I’m living out both my teen humiliations and secret fantasies. It’s cheaper than therapy.

What are the other things you do besides writing and reading?

Tap dancing, watching great storytelling on TV, travel, dinner parties with friends and laughing at ridiculous and often highly inappropriate things with my family.

What are the dorky or geeky things that you do?

I think I’m more hard pressed to figure out what geeky things I don’t do. Most of my pop culture loves are firmly rooted in the geek. I really want a Cylon toaster and a Sonic Screwdriver TV remote. So, yeah. Also, I know my library card number by heart, which I have been told many times confers geek status on me. Now that I think about it, I’m not sure they were intending it as a compliment …

Lol. I think it would be to some of us.

You’ve mentioned this in your author bio, so how exactly did your first kiss suck? 😛

Think wet, fishy lips coming towards you with no finesse. This was a real, cute, teen boy with no kissing ability whatsoever. Which is why swoony teen book boys are so much better.

About writing…

What inspired you to start writing?

I’m one of those crazy reader girls who always wrote for myself but never thought it was a career normal people could have. A love of cinema studies and a boyfriend who was a director led to a 12 yr career as a screenwriter. But there came the point when I wanted to combine my passions of YA books and romantic comedies, so I embarked on this path and have not looked back since.

And I’m glad you did.

What are your writing habits?

I’m not one of those people who has a set regiment of number of hours or words per day. In the early stages, my process consists of lots of thinking–about plot, character, theme, all that goodness. And scrawling notes on random pieces of paper that pile up. Eventually I turn those into a loose outline. And from there, I begin my first draft. I find the deeper I get into the story, the more my writing time increases until I’m scowling at my family for their audacity in wanting clean clothes and food, because all I want to do all day is write. I also play a lot of Suduko once I start writing because it helps me figure out story problems.

I hope they’ve learned to get the clean clothes and food for themselves. Haha

How do you come up with the stories that you write?

I’ll get a flash of something. Maybe I heard (shamelessly eavesdropped) on a conversation on the bus. Or drove past a group of people doing something. Or heard a news story and thought “what if …?” Something will trigger this tingly brain feeling that makes me want to wander around mumbling to myself as I think through the story possibilities.

About reading…

What is the first book that you ever read?

I can’t remember because I was reading by the time I was three. But Hop On Pop by Doctor Seuss is the book I have my first memory of reading by myself.

What are your favorite books of all time?

Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman, The Tales of City series by Armisted Maupin, A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving, Franny and Zooey by Salinger, The Fever Series by Karen Marie Moning and Bet Me by Jennifer Crusie to name a few.

Do you have a preference between ebooks and print copies?

A couple years ago, I would have sworn that I would never read anything but print because I spent enough time on a computer. Then my husband got me a Kindle and I fell in love. I’ll read either format and actually will even read epubs right off my laptop now. Doesn’t matter to me anymore. I get my reading fix however I need to.

I totally agree!

About Sam Cruz…

What gave you the idea to write Sam Cruz’s Infallible Guide to Getting Girls?

I was the girl who was always really good friends with guys without them seeing me as anything more. To be fair, with most of them, I wouldn’t have wanted that. But you know, there was the occasional guy. I never stopped wondering what it would take for two best friends to see each other in a new way. However, the story didn’t actually crystallize for me until I was doing a re-watch of My Fair Lady. When I heard the phrase “Why can’t a woman, be more like a man?” the story just came to life.

From the characters in SCIGTGG (still long), which one was your most favorite to write about?

As much as I loved writing the pure dogness of Etienne, it is all about Sam for me. He’s just so deluded and fighting everything so hard. I will always have a soft spot in my heart for him.

Etienne was definitely a fun character, but I agree that I loved Sam more.

Are there any characters that you personally relate to or did you base your characters off of any one you know?

Well, Ally is very much me. Etienne had elements of guys I know but pretty much everyone else was totally fictional.

How did you come up with your characters? (I’m especially interested in Sam)

It was really that My Fair Lady line “Why can’t a woman be more like a man?” I couldn’t stop thinking about this guy who’s constantly complaining about girls not playing the game properly, getting emotionally invested when they swore they weren’t going to. He gets his heart’s desire and then hates it. Those stories are so much fun.

I especially love Ally and Sam’s relationship as best friends. Do you have a best friend like them?

I’ve been really lucky to have various a few best friends in my life like that.

How did you come up with Sam’s rules?

Those actually got written after the rest of the book. I wanted to create these rules that we know he’s systematically going to break. Kind of setting up this tease at the start.

Have you tried following Sam’s advice to becoming a player?

I am the anti-player. I get too emotionally involved.

Wrapping Up…

I just love your sense of humor, so to end this interview, could you write us a joke?

I’m sure that I would have wrapped up this interview with some blindingly funny words, but now that you asked, I’m totally self-conscious and all my funny has fled. So, uh, just read my books because I promise, I can make you laugh. Just not apparently at this moment.

Any last words?

Thanks so much for having me.! This was a blast. And if anyone wants to discuss geek culture or books, friend me on GR or drop me an email at my website tellulahdarling.com.

Thank you so much for answering my questions. I can personally say that Sam Cruz’s Infallible Guide to Getting Girls is a really great book and I’m really happy to be able to interview you.

break-1

Tellulah DarlingTellulah Darling
noun

Sassy girls. Swoony boys. What could go wrong?

1. YA romantic comedy author because her first kiss sucked and she’s compensating.
2. Alter ego of former screenwriter.
3. Sassy minx.

Geeks out over: cool tech.
Squees for: great storytelling.
Delights in: fabulous conversation.
Writes about: where love meets comedy. Awkwardness ensues.

Tellulah Darling is a firm believer that some of the best stories happen when love meets comedy. Which is why she has so much fun writing young adult romantic comedy novels. Her tales span contemporary, teen fantasy romance, and YA Greek mythology, and range from stand alone books to series. For Tellulah, teen romance is the most passionate, intense, and awkward there is – a comedy goldmine. Plus smart, mouthy, teen girls rock.

Author Links
WebsiteFacebookTwitterPinterestNewsletter

banner-giveaway

SIGNED copy of Sam Cruz’s Infallible Guide to Getting Girls
3 eBooks of Sam Cruz’s Infallible Guide to Getting Girls

break-1

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.

2 thoughts on “#SamCruzBlogTour + GIVEAWAY: Interview with Tellulah Darling

Leave a Reply

