Book Review: Losing It by Cora Carmack

mm-na-november

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

favoriteTitle: Losing It
Author: Cora Carmack
Publication Date: October 12, 2012
Publisher: William Morrow
Series: Losing It #1
Format: Kindle edition
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

Sick of being the only virgin among her friends, Bliss Edwards decides the best way to deal with the problem is to lose it as quickly and simply as possible – a one-night stand. But her plan turns out to be anything but simple when she freaks out and leaves a gorgeous guy alone and naked in her bed with an excuse that no one with half-a-brain would ever believe. And as if that weren’t embarrassing enough, when she arrives for her first class of her last college semester, she recognizes her new theatre professor. She’d left him naked in her bed about 8 hours earlier.

banner-book-babble

I know I’m not that into New Adult, but I fell in love with Cora Carmack. I think it’s because of her unique characters, witty writing, and great sense of humor. Losing It is her first book and the first one I ever read and fell in love with. And I think that this is my favorite out of all her books. It has the funniest and most adorable main characters. And it helps that Garrick is British and I think a lot of people can relate to wanting that.

Bliss Edwards is 22 and on the last semester of studying in a university. She made the mistake of telling her best friend, Kelsey, that she’s a virgin so she’s forced to go to a bar for a one-night stand. But Bliss is such a klutz and always out of luck as she manages to take home her soon-to-be university professor. She couldn’t even push through with the deed and she manages to make a hilarious escape. Bliss always thinks too much, but there is just something about Garrick Taylor that fizzes out her brain. She makes the worst excuses and does crazy things. She’s also not that good at thinking when drunk or deliriously ill. She’s not perfect and she makes a lot of mistakes, but I seriously love her for making me laugh so much and just really feel for her throughout the whole story. I love how her train of thought could so easily be messed up sometimes. Is it so wrong that my favorite part was when she was deliriously sick?

Garrick Taylor is a charmer. He has been in America for a while but he still hasn’t lost the accent. He’s just so sweet and I like how he shows Bliss how much he’s attracted to her despite it being unprofessional. He also took care of Bliss when she had a contagious disease. He’s just honest and straightforward and passionate. He’s funny and sexy. I just really love him.

I think this is one of the few New Adult books where the main characters, Bliss and Garrick, aren’t related to anyone who’s dead or dying. Most characters have to deal with something like that, and that’s not really something I can relate to that much. I found Bliss and Garrick’s story to be pleasant and thoroughly entertaining.  Although the story is more centered around Bliss because it’s told in her perspective, which was totally fine because she’s a fun person. She also had a lot of interesting friends. There was drama that had internal and external influences, but I don’t think it was that heavy.

**************************************************

OVERALL, Losing It is not just about Bliss losing her virginity. I think it’s about learning to let go and live a little. It’s about finding herself and allowing herself to be lost in love and being brave enough to follow her heart. Losing It contains a little drama, swoon-worthy romance, laugh-out-loud humor, and a whole lot of awkward that really made me enjoy reading the book. I completely and helplessly fell in love with Bliss and Garrick and their story.

RATING:

5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
4 thoughts on “Book Review: Losing It by Cora Carmack

  1. Pingback: Losing It (Losing It #1) by Cora Carmack | Katie's Book BlogKatie's Book Blog

  2. Pingback: Losing It (Losing It #1) by Cora Carmack | Katie's Book BlogKatie's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

