Book Review: Keeping Her by Cora Carmack

mm-na-november

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

Title: Keeping Her
Author: Cora Carmack
Publication Date: August 13, 2013
Publisher: William Morrow
Series: Losing It #1.5
Format: Kindle edition
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

Garrick Taylor and Bliss Edwards managed to find their happily-ever-after despite a rather . . . ahem . . . complicated start. By comparison, meeting the parents should be an absolute breeze, right?
But from the moment the pair lands in London, new snags just keep cropping up: a disapproving mother-in-law-to-be, more than one (mostly) minor mishap, and the realization that perhaps they aren’t quite as ready for their future as they thought.
As it turns out, the only thing harder than finding love is keeping it.

banner-book-babble

After falling in love with Bliss and Garrick in Losing It, I knew I had to read this book so I pre-ordered it, but only got to read it recently. I understand that this is just supposed to be a novella, but I found it way too short. Where’s the wedding? I’m not sure if Cora Carmack would be writing more about their story, but I do hope so because I need more than what this book gave me. I also thought that this would be in Garrick’s POV considering the title and how Losing It was i Bliss’s POV only. So I was quite surprised reading from both of them. It’s not a bad thing, just unexpected.

As compared to Losing It, I think this book was a little more dramatic, and it focuses more on getting over insecurities and planning for their futures. Bliss is simply scared of meeting Garrick’s parents, and I think she had every reason to be. Garrick’s parents are uptight rich people who wanted to control Garrick’s life. I like how it was shown how Garrick was able to grow up and how he learned to choose to do what he loves. Bliss is still pretty much her clumsy and awkward self, but I think she has grown to be a strong and smart woman over the course of her stay in London. And Garrick is still the sweet, caring guy that I fell in love with in the first book. But he will be facing major decisions in this book and he will need to choose between the easy way out or the path he has always wanted.

I think my favorite part about the book was when Bliss said these words:

“I didn’t want to be scared alone.”

There was a possibility of a life-changing situation and Bliss was so afraid. She didn’t know what to do about it, and she was trying to hide it from Garrick. But she was able to think things through, and decided to tell Garrick anyway. And that was her reason. She didn’t want to be scared alone. And I personally think that it’s just beautiful. Sometimes we have so many problems in life that we tend to forget that there are other people who love us and are more than willing to help us, comfort us, and even lighten the load. I like how Bliss and Garrick were able to rely on each other.

**************************************************

OVERALL, Keeping Her gives a closer look into Bliss and Garrick and their fears, desires, baggage, dreams, and whatever things they must deal with as they enter the world of adulthood of jobs, marriages, and families. I wasn’t expecting a lot of what happened in this book, and I guess there were some really good things that I got from Keeping Her. This novella still had the same Bliss and Garrick that I loved and who made me laugh, swoon, love, and feel for them. I just really wish for more from this novella.

RATING:

4-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
Leave a Reply

