[Blog Tour] Book Review + GIVEAWAY: Mutilate My Heart by Emily Godwin

Mutilate My Heart tour banner

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

favoriteTitle: Mutilate My Heart (Mutilate #1)
Author: Emily Godwin
Date of Publication: July 9, 2013
Genre: contemporary YA romance with paranormal elements

Purchase linkAmazon | B&N

Acquisition: Oops! I Read Again Tours

Punk rock band Mutilated Arteries has been seventeen-year-old Becca’s world (aka obsession) for the last year. When the band schedules a concert in her hometown, she and her best friend Carli are the first ones in line to buy tickets. The night is everything she expects it to be and more, especially after making friends with the new super-cute bassist, Sketch.
Becca’s mom warns her not to fall for a rock star because rock stars are always on the road – or they die in a plane crash, like her mom’s favorite band did twenty-something years ago. But after the band’s tour bus breaks down and they’re stuck hanging out in Roizen Hills for a week, it’s hard for Becca not to fall for Sketch and his caricature drawings and toxic green eyes.
Becca knows Sketch is leaving as soon as the bus is fixed, and she can’t be his fan-turned-girlfriend anyway because of the lead singer’s “No Girlfriends” rule. Plus, there’s something strange about the guys that Becca can’t quite decipher… like how they won’t reveal their real names, their always-changing odd appearances, and the guitarist’s obsession with blood and zombies. Still, Becca wants nothing more than for Sketch to mutilate her heart…but it just might not be in a way she expects.

banner-book-babble

When I put this book on my TBR list, I wasn’t expecting the paranormal elements so that came out as quite a surprise to me. Not that it was a bad thing, but it definitely sets up a lot of mysteries that should be solved in the following books. I did however expect this book to be dark from the cover and title alone. And I think that Emily Godwin is more my kind of person in terms of music or musicians.

Mutilate My Heart was a very short read that I managed to finish in around 3 hours or less. The book had me bouncing at the edge of my seat from the time Becca met Sketch. I pretty much put it together who he was and I was excited to see how Becca would handle it and how everything would play out between the two of them. She’s definitely a very lucky lady to be able to attract a gorgeous band member from one of her favourite bands. And it seems that luck really was very much on her side when the band’s tour bus broke down and forced Mutilated Arteries to camp out at the local mall’s parking lot. But maybe she won’t be so lucky when she finds out the band’s dark secret, and she also feels that this wouldn’t really last since the band would need to leave soon enough.

I personally love most of the characters in this book. Becca and her friend, Carli, are total fangirls for Mutilated Arteries. I love how Becca tried so hard to play it cool around the band, and I love her genuine interest in music. Carli, on the other hand, definitely was a little more obsessed and didn’t mind showing it. I even love Becca’s mom who keeps on telling the story of when she kissed the singer of her favorite band years ago and how the singer died three days later. She seems really fun and pretty cool. One thing I’m not sure of is Becca’s annoying friend, Maddie, who doesn’t really seem that important to the story. I’m not sure I like how they treated her either.

And then there are the band members of Mutilated Arteries. Sketch, the bassist, got his name for his talent in drawing. He’s also quite the charmer. Corpse, the zombie-obsessed guitarist, seems like the most outgoing out of all the band members. Ink, the drummer, probably looks like the scariest of them all with tattoos more than skin and his human spine belt, but that scene in the haunted music hall was just so precious and gosh do I love him. That was definitely one of my favorite scenes. Nightmare, the vocalist, is definitely a scary one and always so serious. I feel there’s a different side to him that we have yet to see though or maybe I’m just imagining that. Nightmare’s brother and lead guitarist, Banshee, earned his name for the way he sings in the band. He may be the only one who can actually sway his brother’s mind. And then there are some characters that might need more fleshing out before I can judge whether I like them or not.

This is the kind of book that had me screaming “More! Now!” I wanted to see more of the band members and know more about each one of them. I wanted to see more of Becca and Sketch’s relationship. I loved the romance between the two of them and how it’s far from normal and consists of an ugly anteater, creepy clowns, and haunted places. I’m not usually into paranormal and normal characters mixing, but Emily Godwin made me believe that this should work and I should be rooting for them. Love is love. And Mutilate My Heart also ends in a way that you would still have a lot of questions about the characters, the plot, the mysteries, and maybe more. But most of all, I just really loved so much about the book that I would want to read anything Emily Godwin may have written or will write in the future.

I like how Spaceship Around Saturn (from American Girl on Saturn by Nikki Godwin) is mentioned inMutilate My Heart, and how Mutilated Arteries is also mentioned in American Girl on Saturn. I wonder how much the Godwin sisters (Nikki and Emily) influenced each other in writing their books. Despite being both writers that fully support each other (you should see their blogs), I think they have their own personal styles that set them apart, and make me love them individually.

**************************************************

OVERALL, Mutilate My Heart was a wonderful short read about a love for music and love for a person. Sometimes love is just love. No matter the differences or costs. Sometimes the risks can be worth it. Mutilate My Heart blends the contemporary setting with paranormal mysteries and sets out as a great start to the series. It has a unique set of interesting characters that I personally fell with love. I love the romance, the humor, the lyrics to the songs, the conversations, and even Becca’s unspoken thoughts. This is a book that left me wanting more and I cannot wait for the next book in the series.

RATING:

4.5-star

Emily Godwin-AuthorPicEmily Godwin is a Young Adult author. She enjoys writing, painting, and sewing her own line of non-evil voodoo dolls. She’s a Slytherin, trying to disguise herself as a Hufflepuff, and wishes she could read herself into books.
Author Links
Twitter / Facebook / Blog / Goodreads

banner-giveaway

SIGNED paperback of Mutilate My Heart [US]
2 ebooks of Mutilate My Heart [INT]

break-1

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
4 thoughts on “[Blog Tour] Book Review + GIVEAWAY: Mutilate My Heart by Emily Godwin

Leave a Reply

