Book Review: Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

mm-na-november

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

favoriteTitle: Hopeless
Author: Colleen Hoover
Publication Date: December 17, 2012
Publisher: Colleen Hoover
Series: Hopeless #1
Format: Kindle
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

Sometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…
That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.
Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.
Recommended for readers 17+ due to sexual content, harsh language and heavy subject matter.

banner-book-babble

When I first read this book many months ago, I was left speechless. I wanted to write a good review for it, but I just really couldn’t find the words for it because there are no words that could describe how powerful this book really is. And even now, I don’t think I could really ever have the words to really explain how much this book affected me. But I will try to talk about what I can.

Sky Davis has been sheltered all her life. Her adoptive mother, Karen, didn’t believe in technology so TVs, computers, cellphones, etc. are all banned from their household. Karen also chose to home-school her. But with the help of her best friend, Six, they were able to convince Karen to allow her to enter a real high school for her senior year. Sky lived a pretty good life and she was a good daughter. Six may have some bad influences on her and tainted her reputation, but Sky was still a really good and smart person. Unfortunately, a lot of high school kids beg to differ.

She meets Dean Holder after her first day at school at the supermarket. And he instantly freaked her out. But slowly and surely, Holder makes a way into her life and into her heart. But there are a lot of secrets that could ruin their relationship and/or Sky’s life. The first time I read this book, I honestly didn’t see what was coming, and I couldn’t let go of the book until I found out that Sky would be okay. But even during the second time around, this book was still hard to let go of unfinished.

I just re-read this book recently and I don’t know if I chose to forget the worst parts of this book, but I didn’t remember a couple of the horrible things that happened. But reading the book the second time just amplified my love for the book because I could understand Holder’s reactions. I could understand his personality. I could understand the depth of his feelings and his passions and it literally gave me goosebumps. I could understand how Sky coped and put up all the walls around her. I knew what happened to these characters and I saw the beauty in all of it. And I know that this book is something that I could read over and over again despite the heartbreaking parts.

**************************************************

OVERALL, Hopeless is a very powerful read. It has a lot of intense parts that made my heart ache and made me want to cry. But it also has a lot of swoon-worthy moments that made me feel warm and fuzzy, and I just felt the love. And there were moments that are laugh-out-loud funny that I was continuously amused. All the characters were simply wonderful and well thought out that they are so real and relatable. This is a beautifully written book that I would definitely recommend to anyone.

RATING:

5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
2 thoughts on “Book Review: Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

