Book Review: The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson

mm-duos-december

PLEASE NOTE: This is a review for a sequel in a series. There will be SPOILERS in this book. I try avoiding spoilers as much as I could, but I cannot guarantee that I could avoid giving out too much. You may jump to the end of the review to see my summary and rating. You can also check out my review on the first book, 13 Little Blue Envelopes.

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

recommendedTitle: The Last Little Blue Envelope
Author: Maureen Johnson
Publication Date: April 26, 2011
Publisher: HarperTeen
Series: Little Blue Envelope #2
Format: Paperback
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

Ginny Blackstone spent last summer traveling around Europe, following the tasks her aunt laid out in a series of letters before she died. When someone stole Ginny’s backpack—and the last little blue envelope inside—she resigned herself to never knowing how the adventure was supposed to end.
Now a mysterious boy has contacted Ginny from London, saying he’s found her bag. Finally she can finish what she started. But instead of ending her journey, the last letter starts a whole new one, and Ginny must hold on to her wits . . . and her heart. This time, there are no instructions.

banner-book-babble

Months after Ginny’s wonderful trip to Europe, a stranger emails her about the last blue envelope that she left unread after losing it in Greece. So she packs her bags once more and goes on another adventure. This time it’s during the winter break. It makes me wonder a little how she convinced her parents to let her leave during Christmas time. Is that a normal thing? It’s not something I can personally relate to because my parents always want us together on special occasions.

Although I do like that she spent Christmas time with Richard. (I guess this is a timely read for the holiday season) Things are definitely better between the two of them after the last book. And I’m really really glad that Richard didn’t have to spend Christmas alone.

“This would have been it for me,” Richard said, looking at the food that was all over his furniture. “Sitting here eating all this by myself. It would have been very, very sad and very, very disgusting. Because I would have done it.”

I really do love Richard, as an adult character that is. He’s endearing as an uncle should be. He’s sweet, funny, and caring. He still isn’t that good with handling a teenager, but he really tries. I like how Ginny got to spend more time with him in this book, and how they became truly part of each other’s lives. I don’t think it happens often that my favorite character is one of the authority figures.

Apart from Richard, there are a couple of other familiar characters that will show up again in this book – Keith (of course), Mari (Aunt Peg’s mentor) and Chloe (Mari’s assistant/apprentice), and a couple of others. There’s also a bunch of new characters too. One of them being Oliver, the person who found Ginny’s letters. He’s a person that definitely slowly warmed up to me in a way. Some things can quite unconventional is all I can say. (Am I too vague? I’m trying so hard not to spoil anything)

Can I just say? Evil author is evil. Maureen Johnson turned one of my favorite characters into one to be loathed. I think that was my least favorite part about this book. And once I re-read 13 Little Blue Envelopes, hating that character made even more sense. I just can’t get over that fact. It’s awful, but it makes so much sense that I can’t easily dismiss it.

**************************************************

OVERALL, The Last Little Envelope is unquestionably a wonderful sequel to 13 Little Blue Envelopes. There were a lot of surprises in this book – some a little unfavorable. However, I still really loved this book. It was definitely different from the previous one, and Ginny didn’t completely follow a lot of the rules anymore. But the wit, humor, adventure, and feelings were all still generously presented in this book. I definitely like how it all ended.

RATING:

4.5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
3 thoughts on “Book Review: The Last Little Blue Envelope by Maureen Johnson

  1. I really desperately need to read the sequel! I attempted to read it but I had to take it back to the library just before I finished it :/ I’m glad you enjoyed it though!

Leave a Reply

