Cheers to 2013 and 2014 (Best Books, Accomplishments, Highlights, etc.)

Thanks for being awesome 2013!
And welcome 2014.
May you be more awesome.

This year has been really eventful for me, and it wasn’t always topsy-turvy, but I had a blast anyway. The awesome outweigh the bad.

A lot of people and books have been so good to me, and I don’t think there are enough words to express my gratefulness to all the authors, bloggers, and followers all over the world.

So here’s a little recap~

break-1

goodreads challenge 2013

I read 250 books this year~ The Goodreads Challenge was actually a little silly for me. I started out at 100 or 150, but then I started reading so much and I kept on adding 10s or 20s or more until I settled with 240. And I happen to finish 250. So YAY~

In reality, I read 262 books this year because I re-read a couple of books. And I will be deriving my best books list from my own Reading Recap.

I might read less this 2014 though because I’m planning to go back to university, and I’m pretty sure I’d be busy.

break-1

There are too many awesome books, and I’m not sure I even remember them all because there are just so much. But these are the books that I really loved. It’s always hard to choose favorites, but I tried my best so here goes nothing~ This list only includes books I read this year. I mixed age groups. I hope no one minds. 😛

Best 2013 Releases

Splintered Let The Sky Fall american girl on saturn chasing forever down The Avery Shaw Experiment a tale of two centuries Poison backward glass finding cinderella Unravel Me Evanescent Ruin Two Roads Click to Subscribe the distance between us The Madness Underneath romancing the bookworm unreap my heart A Really Awesome Mess This Is What Happy Looks Like Pivot Point The Unearthly Mutilate My Heart snake in the grass

Best Non-2013 Releases

Always and Forever The Other Normals Hopeless Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone Graceling where she went For the Darkness Shows the Stars my super sweet sixteenth century Legend Daughter of Smoke & Bone Insignia Beta Conjure seven day fiance Losing It Attachments 15823429  stolen

Best Re-Reads from Previous Years

Anna and the French Kiss 13 Little Blue Envelopes Delirium Being Jamie Baker Boy Meets Boy

Tear-jerkers

(I don’t cry a lot so there are noteworthy. Although they’re not all drama though. There’s a perfect balance)

Always and Forever where she went Hopeless Ruin Evanescent the distance between us 

break-1

Thank You’s

Oh. I don’t even know how to begin. This is going to be like those award-winning speeches where I will forget a lot of people. But I want you to know that I am very grateful for you if you are reading this.

I also want to thank a lot of authors and bloggers who have all been so kind to me. (in no particular order)

Authors: Nikki Godwin, L.M. Augustine, David Lomax, Rachel Harris, Kelly Oram, A.G. Howard, Lissa Price, Kate Evangelista, Veronica Bane, Staci Hart, Lea Nolan, Tellulah Darling, Erica Crouch, Priya Kanaparti, Laura Thalassa, Angela McPherson, Jennifer E. Smith, Dan Rix, Peter Kassan.

Bloggers: Diane @ Oops I Read a Book Again, Michelle @ In Libris Veritas, Chiara @ Books for a Delicate Eternity, Kayla @ The Thousand Lives, Nara @ Looking for the Panacea, Ner @ A Cup of Coffee and a Book, Christine @ Readerly Musings, Emma @ Books Forget Me Knot, Indiereadergirl0329, Farzy @ Books Keep Me Sane, Pam @ Reading is Fun Again, Stephanie @ Love Life Read, Lisa @ Tasty Book Tours, Tanya @ Bookloving Hippo, Andrea @ Books and Bindings, Fran @ Bella’s Shelf, Jess @ Literary, Etc., Books Over Flowers, Andi @ Andi’s ABCs.

Oh this is so hard. Just THANK YOU EVERYONE!

break-1

Highlights

Well, for one. I started this blog. I posted more than 200 articles in around 6 months. I gave away a lot of books. I met a lot of people. I joined a couple of read-a-thons. I hosted a read-a-thon. I organized a blog tour.

I received a LOT of stuff in the mail. I don’t think I can even recount all of them anymore. I did post them throughout the blog, twitter, and Instagram though.

I pimp out a lot of authors. There are so many I’m not sure I can list them all. I became a part L.M. Augustine’s Cake Ninjas and Rachel Harris’ Flirt Squad. And I would like to think I’m part of the Saturnite club for Nikki Godwin. 😛

[WALL OF TEXT]I also totally support (in no particular order) A.G. Howard, Lissa Price, Shannon Messenger, Stephanie Perkins, Lauren Oliver, David Lomax, Laura Thalassa, Kelly Oram, Kate Evangelista, Cora Carmack, Colleen Hoover, Lea Nolan, Karla J. Nellenbach, Emily Godwin, Tahereh Mafi, Veronica Bane, Staci Hart, Kasie West, Jennifer E. Smith, Erica Crouch, Rainbow Rowell, Sophie Kinsella, Maureen McGowan, Maureen Johnson, Alice Clayton, Ned Vizzini, Rachel Cohn, David Levithan, Gayle Forman. [WALL OF TEXT]

break-1

For 2014

RESOLUTIONS (even if I don’t always follow through. Help me? :P)

  1. Spend less. Save up.
  2. Write better.
  3. Interact more.
  4. Stress less.
  5. Be Healthy.

Upcoming releases I’m looking forward to: (this is incomplete because there are a lot of awesome books coming out and I’m sure of it)

Enders Unhinged Let the Storms Break Ignite Me Isla and the Happily Ever After

Panic the geography of you and me falling from the sky Into the Still Blue

Also, I’m hoping Rachel Harris’ My Not So Super Sweet Life comes out this year too.

mm-duos-december

One last thing. Here are the winners of the December Giveaway! I chose two because Chiara answered she wanted the Unraveling series by Elizabeth Norris and I have an extra copy of the hardback so I’ll send her that one. Ariel chose the Just One Day series by Gayle Forman and I will be getting that through The Book Depository.

dec-g

break-1

That’s all~ I hope to see everyone this 2014 too.

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

13 thoughts on “Cheers to 2013 and 2014 (Best Books, Accomplishments, Highlights, etc.)

  1. haha that’s a lot of “best” books to list 😛
    I have to admit, it’s really difficult to narrow down a list of top books, especially when you read a lot! I always struggle lol
    OMG definitely definitely looking forward to Ignite Me and Isla and the Happily Ever After 😀

  2. I cannot believe you read so many books in 2013! Conflagrations 😀
    Splintered was definitely an amazing 2013 debut! 😀 And I also cannot wait for Unhinged – it comes out in about three days!
    Thank you for mentioning me, Francine 🙂 I shall continue to support your blog this year, as well!
    Oh, yay for me winning a book from you ^.^ I cannot wait to read that series – it looks awesome.
    And I love your new blog design, by the way – very pretty!

Leave a Reply

