Book Review: The Moth in the Mirror by A.G. Howard

mm-journeys-january

A journey into another’s memories

No matter how we start, we can never plan what happens in between until the end. – Francine

break-1

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

Title: The Moth in the Mirror
Author: A.G. Howard
Publication Date: October 22, 2013
Publisher: Amulet Books
Series: Splintered #1.5
Format: Kindle eBook
Acquisition: Won from a giveaway

Purchase at: Amazon

An original ebook-only novella in the Splintered series, told from the points of view of both Jeb and Morpheus. Morpheus wants to know more about his rival for Alyssa’s affections, so he digs into Jeb’s memories of his time in Wonderland. But he may be surprised by what he finds.
This brand-new story and perspective from A.G. Howard’s dark, magical world stands alone, but also provides a tantalizing glimpse of what’s to come in Unhinged, the sequel to Splintered.

banner-book-babble

The Moth in the Mirror gives a different point of view for some unseen parts of Splintered, book 1, while also bridging a possible transition for Morpheus in Unhinged, book 2. I will admit that it was not what I was expecting. I was hoping for a lot more Morpheus! The title is “The MOTH in the Mirror” after all. So maybe that’s why I was a little disappointed. But this was still a really good read overall. In this short story, Morpheus looks into Jeb’s memories in order to learn more about him and destroy him.

‘Tis a pun, like the one you made earlier, but much more clever. – Morpheus

That was one of my favorite line from Morpheus throughout the book. It reminds me a little of Johnny Depp’s portrayal of Captain Jack Sparrow, and that makes me love Morpheus so much more. I like how he’s so fashionable and a little quirky. And he’s so sure of himself. And even though he’s kind of a bad guy, he’s definitely just charming. I love him so much more even though I know Jeb is the right choice for Alyssa.

What I found most interesting about this book is when it’s Morpheus’ point of view because it shows how the inhabitants of Wonderland think so much differently than those in the human world. I’ll admit he seems a little too crazy sometimes with the way he thinks and how he acts on the things he wants. But I mostly like how his feelings for Alyssa has changed him, making him a little more human than he’d like. I’d really love to know how things would work out for him.

Huh, I think this is more of a “Why I love Morpheus” post rather than a review for The Moth in the Mirror. 😛

Anyway, for the fans of Jeb. A lot would be shown on how he handled things when he was away from Alyssa in Splintered, where he mostly kept on worrying about her and wanted nothing but to have her safe. It shows even more how much he cared about Alyssa. It even moved Morpheus a little, and I guess that says something.

**************************************************

OVERALL,  The Moth in the Mirror made me even more excited to read Unhinged. It gives a more intimate look into Morpheus and Jeb. I personally wish there was more of Morpheus, but I still loved this as A.G. Howard feeds us tiny bites of wonder, humor, charm, and romance. Give me Unhinged now please!

RATING:

4.5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Moth in the Mirror by A.G. Howard

Leave a Reply

