ARC Book Review: The Coveted by Laura Thalassa

mm-journeys-january

A journey to solve crimes (or more)

No matter how we start, we can never plan what happens in between until the end. – Francine

break-1

Please note: This is a review for a sequel of The Unearthly. You can find my review of The Unearthly here or skip to the OVERALL part and rating. This may contain SPOILERS on the previous book. There are also a couple of surprises in this book so I tried to keep the title a little vague.

recommended

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

Title: The Coveted
Author: Laura Thalassa
Publication Date: December 13, 2013
Publisher: Lavabrook Publishing Group
Series: The Unearthly #2
Format: eBook
Acquisition: From the author

Purchase at: Amazon

“In places that know more about heaven and hell than we do, you have a reputation, Gabrielle. To them you are known as the devil’s consort.”
When a body shows up near Peel Academy, all signs indicate the killer is a vampire. Ravaged throat, body drained of blood. At least that’s all it appears to be when the Politia, the supernatural police force, assigns Gabrielle to the case. Now it’s Gabrielle’s job to figure out who did it.
But after a second body turns up with the same lethal wounds, it’s clear that a serial killer is stalking the island. The murders have compromised the truce between the Politia and vampires, and as long as the killer roams free, it is in danger of dissolving. If that happens, no vampire is safe from persecution, not even Gabrielle.
Now Gabrielle must team up with Andre, her soulmate and the one person she’s tried to stay away from, to investigate the murders before the truce dissolves. And keeping her distance is proving to be impossible.
But Gabrielle has a bigger problem. The world of the dead know about her, and their whispers hint that something is coming for her. And it’s coming soon.

banner-book-babble

The Coveted starts with the action right away as the first chapter features a witch who is attacked by an unknown being. It continues the story of Gabrielle Fiori months after The Unearthly, and Gabrielle is now a member of the Politia. She is assigned to the case of that murder, and the rest that follows. And that’s the least of her worries. The truce between the vampires and other supernaturals is endangered and she is being haunted by the world of the dead.

When I started reading The Coveted, I had already forgotten a lot of what I read from The Unearthly, but I was still pretty much hooked. It kept me on my toes with all the things happening in the story. Honestly, I felt like I had a mood disorder when I was reading this.  I was scared, laughing, contemplative, swooning, etc. all in a matter of pages. Or maybe it felt shorter than it was. But Laura Thalassa could surely play with my emotions as I easily felt affected by the story.

I’m not really sure what to feel about the romance, but I’m definitely still head over heels for Andre. Gabrielle still can’t fully accept parts of Andre’s beliefs and personality, but there is an irresistible bond between the two of them. I know Gabrielle is definitely attracted to Andre, and they are adorable together. Andre even shows a more vulnerable side, and I guess he’s really working on himself so that he can keep Gabrielle. I think Gabrielle should accept that she can’t change everything about Andre, even if his actions can be really bad. Sometimes he’s just really driven by his deep emotions, and he carries the weight of the vampire world on his shoulders.

My favorite part of the book would definitely be Gabrielle’s best friend, Oliver. He’s a gay fairy that doesn’t take no for an answer. He shamelessly eats all of their candy and he even moved into their room without their consent. He’s incredibly hilarious and amusing, even in such inappropriate moments. Even though he doesn’t really respect Gabrielle and Leanne’s privacy sometimes, he’s still a really great friend who genuinely cares for the two girls. He just looks out for the both of them. He’s definitely a friend I would love to have.

The man in the suit is still definitely after Gabrielle, which made his minions come after her as well. I wonder how the rest of the series would be developed. Laura Thalassa has chosen a very powerful antagonist, and I’m not really sure how Gabrielle could win. I’ve heard there a lot more books in this series. I hope it doesn’t drag out things too much, but if they’re all as good as the first two books then that would be really great.

I was alarmed when it was mentioned that this sequel had more mature language. I think that The Coveted was a little more explicit than The Unearthly, but still fairly clean as compared to a lot of the books nowadays. It consisted of swear words, sexual situations, and more bloody violent scenes. I was affected by these, but none of it really turned me off.

**************************************************

OVERALL,  The Coveted is yet another amazing read from Laura Thalassa, and it was a mental rolled coaster ride that dabbles in murders, supernatural politics, relationships, and the underworld. I felt like I had a mood disorder with the gripping, fast-paced plot that made me react in all kinds of ways, and I mean that in a good way. One can find supernaturals, humor, romance, suspense, action, and mystery all wrapped into one book.

RATING:

4.5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
6 thoughts on “ARC Book Review: The Coveted by Laura Thalassa

Leave a Reply

