Book Bonuses #1: The Epic-ness of “Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour”

mm-journeys-january

banner-book-bonuses

Book Bonuses: where I share all the lovely book extras I find

break-1

Today, I want to feature Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson. It’s one of the most awesome books I found ever. I know that pictures are for Children’s books or Middle Grade books, but sometimes they work well for Young Adult books. Maybe even New Adult or Adult books. Who knows. Now I won’t spoil all the fun, so I will only be showing a few pictures from the book that I took with my phone camera. The rest is for others to find out once they read it.

So read on or browse on~

Let’s start with the lovely cover.

bb-aarepd

Here we have the breaks in the book. It shows where they are. I like the faint map background.

bb-aarepd

It has special features like this one below. (Sorry if it’s kinda blurry)

bb-aarepd

Each chapter starts with quotes or whatnot. (Sorry this is also blurry)

bb-aarepd

And there’s this. It shows where they’ve been and has some notes or facts about all the different places.

bb-aarepd

One of my favorite parts is the set of pictures taken during the trip. (That In-N-Out scene made me hungry!) I also like the little receipts she keeps.

bb-aarepd

And another one of my favorite parts is the playlist. The playlists are mostly Roger’s and he has these cute little sketches that go with them. There are also different playlists for the different legs of their trip.

bb-aarepd

So there~ Isn’t it just epic? I definitely love these about the book!

Let’s end this with some details about the book.

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

Title: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour
Author: Morgan Matson
Publication Date: May 4, 2010
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Series: N/A

Purchase at: Amazon

Amy Curry thinks her life sucks. Her mom decides to move from California to Connecticut to start anew–just in time for Amy’s senior year. Her dad recently died in a car accident. So Amy embarks on a road trip to escape from it all, driving cross-country from the home she’s always known toward her new life. Joining Amy on the road trip is Roger, the son of Amy’s mother’s old friend. Amy hasn’t seen him in years, and she is less than thrilled to be driving across the country with a guy she barely knows. So she’s surprised to find that she is developing a crush on him. At the same time, she’s coming to terms with her father’s death and how to put her own life back together after the accident. Told in traditional narrative as well as scraps from the road–diner napkins, motel receipts, postcards–this is the story of one girl’s journey to find herself.

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

9 thoughts on “Book Bonuses #1: The Epic-ness of “Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour”

  1. I JUST FINISHED THIS BOOK AND I DO NOT SHIP AMY AND ROGER. (this is what I just wanted to say to you, but I guess you already knew this :P) And I have to agree with you, the inside is great and it’s so pretty and all the pictures and the ‘scrapbooking’ just gives this special touch!

  2. Pingback: Weekly Digest 01 | Read Me Away

Leave a Reply

