[Blog Tour + Giveaway] Excerpt + Book Review: Chasing Forever Down by Nikki Godwin

CFDbanner

Follow the rest of the tour by clicking on the banner~

favorite

CFDcover

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

Title: Chasing Forever Down (Drenaline Surf #1)
Author: Nikki Godwin
Date of Publication: March 14, 2013
Genre: contemporary YA romance with sports

Purchase at:  Amazon | B&N | Smashwords

Acquisition: Oops! I Read Again Tours

After seventeen-year-old Haley Sullivan meets a mysterious stranger who plays by his own rules, she’s more than determined to learn every trick of the trade from the master himself. But her dream-chasing mentor disappears after that night, and according to the local newspapers, he’s been dead for years. Knowing he’s very much alive, Haley enlists best friend Linzi to join her on a scavenger-hunt-style road trip that ultimately lands them in the surf town of Crescent Cove, California. Mystery guy is no mystery here, though – he’s Colby Taylor, the west coast’s biggest professional surfer.
If Haley wants to talk to the wave rider again, she’ll have to get past his four intimidating bodyguards who are highly skilled in the business of sending starstruck fangirls back to where they belong. Haley is up for the challenge if it means chasing her dreams and escaping the perfectly corporate future that’s been planned for her. But dealing with these bodyguards isn’t exactly what Haley imagined it’d be. Sure, being thrown off a jet ski sucks, but falling in love with one of them might just be worse.

break-1

CHASING FOREVER DOWN EXCERPT

“Whoa!” Alston yells out.

I look back. His lips keep moving, but I can’t hear anything over the roaring of A.J.’s jet ski.

“– the hell!?” is all I catch. I throw my arms into the air and shake my head as Alston moves toward me.

“What the hell are you doing?” he asks once he’s within earshot. He motions at A.J., but I know he’s talking to me.

“Jet skiing,” I say. “You know, most people wear lifejackets. I thought that was normal.”

He points at A.J. “You’re seriously getting on that with him? Are you crazy? No one has ever ridden with A.J. Well, except that one time Reed did. He still has the scar to show for it.”

My blood boils as hot as this raging summer sun. This whole jet skiing with A.J. deal was a ploy, just like I thought. He’s probably rocked his mechanical bull moves on that yellow jet ski for a thousand girls. I bet he blew cigarette smoke on them and wrapped his arm around their pretty tan shoulders and told them how wave jumping with him would be the most badass experience of their lives. And at that point, the girls decided to take turns riding with Alston or they found another chiseled beach bum to waste their time with. None of them ever dared to get on the back of Jailbird Gonzalez’s jet ski.

But I do.

mm-journeys-january

A journey to find the mystery guy

No matter how we start, we can never plan what happens in between until the end. – Francine

banner-book-babble

Nikki Godwin has this talent of making me interested in things I never really cared about before. She made me fall in love with a fictional boy band in American Girl on Saturn, when I’m mostly into indie rock bands. I even became a total fangirl, wearing the Saturnite status proud. And then I read Chasing Forever Down, and I was thrust into the world of fictional surfers and bodyguards, and I loved every minute of it. When I first read American Girl on Saturn by Nikki Godwin, all I wanted was another book about the same characters. However, after reading Chasing Forever Down, I want MORE of this book too. I’m so happy that there’s going to be a little crossover of the two books in the sequel of AGoS.

I’m not really sure how I can explain how awesome this book is without spoiling any of it. I think I’ll go with being mostly vague.

Chasing Forever Down starts out with a swanky party where Hailey meets a stranger. They started talking and instantly clicked and went around town together. And then he killed her! Just kidding. They found out that they had a couple of things in common. The only problem is that he wouldn’t divulge his name. And he challenged her to chase forevers that left Haley with a lot of questions. They were supposed to meet again, but he never showed up. And Haley questions if he were real. So she decides to go find him and enlists the aid of her best friend, Linzi. But Haley’s trip is going to be a lot more than she expected it to be.

It’s the first time I heard the term, forever chasers or chasing forevers. I take it as going after the things that would make us infinitely happy or things that we are truly passionate about. Sometimes, even wealth or assumed ideal plans aren’t enough to keep us content. I deeply felt inspired by that thought, and I’m honestly working on chasing my forever down this year even though it won’t be easy. Haley won’t really be chasing her forever in this book, she will be chasing for more answers. But her search will definitely spark something. Actually, a lot of somethings. And I have been deeply moved. Also, the ending made me tear up. Why must it be like that?

As much as I love the romance in this book, I’m still more in love with the side characters, specifically AJ Gonzalez. Oh how I love him so so much. I want to find a guy like AJ and make him my best friend or boyfriend, or even better, both. Loving side characters is normal for me, but I don’t think I’ve ever felt so strongly as I do for AJ. I don’t really want to say much about him because I don’t want to spoil anything, but this probably won’t be the last time anyone would hear me mention him. 😛

I personally love how Chasing Forever Down explodes with color as vibrant as its cover. It reflects the bright hues of summer and paints a very beautiful picture. I’m not much of an outdoor person, but I do appreciate really beautiful sites. I just wanted to get lost in this gorgeous and magical place where there are so many attractive guys.

Nikki Godwin is the queen of YA reverse harems. I mean, all those guys? Seriously? How can there be so many lovable guys? And each one has their own unique personalities too. In AGoS, there are five band members. In CFD, there are the four bodyguards and the Hooligans, who are the hardcore surfers in Crescent Cove. (I didn’t think I would ever use the word hardcore)

**************************************************

OVERALL, Chasing Forever Down is a beautiful book that has definitely taken me by surprise. Everything about this book was just so unexpected, and it really shows how we shouldn’t easily judge something based on first impressions. Nikki Godwin has successfully written a book that is both touching and inspiring, and has me swooning at any mention or thought of the characters. I’m so excited to see the sequel to this book!

RATING:

5-star

nikki godwinNikki Godwin is a Young Adult/New Adult author from the southern USA. She is a city girl who can’t live without Mountain Dew, black eyeliner, Hawthorne Heights, and candles from Bath & Body Works. When not writing, she’s not-so-secretly internet-stalking her favorite bands. She may or may not completely love One Direction.
Author Links Blog ll Twitter ll Facebook

banner-giveaway

2 e-copies of CHASING FOREVER DOWN [INTL]

P.S. I’m giving away a Kindle copy of this book too. Just click on the “Journeys January” banner. 😀

break-1

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
9 thoughts on “[Blog Tour + Giveaway] Excerpt + Book Review: Chasing Forever Down by Nikki Godwin

  1. Pingback: Review – Chasing Forever Down by Nikki Godwin | Feed Your Fiction Addiction

Leave a Reply

