Book Review: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

mm-journeys-january

A journey to a new home

No matter how we start, we can never plan what happens in between until the end. – Francine

break-1

favorite

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

Title: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour
Author: Morgan Matson
Publication Date: May 3, 2011
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers
Series: N/A
Format: Paperback
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

Amy Curry thinks her life sucks. Her mom decides to move from California to Connecticut to start anew–just in time for Amy’s senior year. Her dad recently died in a car accident. So Amy embarks on a road trip to escape from it all, driving cross-country from the home she’s always known toward her new life. Joining Amy on the road trip is Roger, the son of Amy’s mother’s old friend. Amy hasn’t seen him in years, and she is less than thrilled to be driving across the country with a guy she barely knows. So she’s surprised to find that she is developing a crush on him. At the same time, she’s coming to terms with her father’s death and how to put her own life back together after the accident. Told in traditional narrative as well as scraps from the road–diner napkins, motel receipts, postcards–this is the story of one girl’s journey to find herself.

banner-book-babble

Oh my gosh. This book! This book is just awesome. I love it to bits and pieces. I cannot believe I ignored this book for so long. I’m sorry but that cover did not call to me, and that title made me very skeptical. I only got this book because the bookstore was out of the books I wanted. But man am I glad I got this and read it. This book isn’t perfect, but I simply adored it even if it wasn’t.

Amy Curry needed to get herself, their car, and her other things all the way to Connecticut. The only problem is that Amy could no longer get behind the wheel after her father’s fatal car accident. So Mrs. Curry enlists the help of Roger, a guy Amy hasn’t seen in a REALLY long time to the point that they’re like strangers to each other. Mrs. Curry also chose the supposedly fastest and cheapest way to drive to their destination. Unfortunately, it was also the least scenic route they could take. So they both agreed that they could just take a different way as long as they can get to Connecticut in time. Little did they know about the big adventure they were going to experience.

And what an adventure it was. This book made me want to just leave everything behind and get on a car and just let the winds guide me to all kinds of places. The only problem with that is that I don’t know how to drive, and I don’t really know anyone who would want to go with me. I really liked how Morgan Matson included pictures of all the different places, and I like how there were facts about the different states where I learned how the locals pronounce the state name or or how some things work there. Also, this book made me very very HUNGRY. They like to eat. I even found out some local specials one must try. Although I don’t live in America so I’m not sure how I’ll try them. But I do like eating so something close enough might work. I also loved the playlists with their titles and cute little doodles. What made them even better were the songs that I barely find other people liking. Or maybe that’s just in my country, but I don’t know a lot of people who like The Hush Sound or Hellogoodbye or a couple of other more bands.

I posted a few pictures of the inside of my copy. Trust me when I say there is so much more to see in it.

Like all road trips, this one had to come to an end. And I was so so sad when it did. This was the part that really hit all the feels for me, and it was the time where it was okay for me for Amy & Roger to be the ones to have a relationship. One might ask, “won’t they need to part ways after the trip?” Well, I don’t want to spoil anything. Although I do think a picture speaks a thousand words. Wait, would it still be considered as such when there are a lot of words on the picture?

The Amy and Roger duo is a funny and entertaining bunch. I just loved the development between the two of them – the awkward strangers to friends to maybe possibly even more. I think it’s very interesting how the author showed the relationship between the two of them. It shows a possibility of how one would act when stuck with an unknown person. They started out not trusting each other. Amy didn’t want to talk about the gaping wound that her father’s death left in her, which sometimes was like an elephant in the room. Thankfully, Roger was very understanding and tried to make sure Amy was okay giving her time. Amy sure did find it easier to tell her problems to strangers though. Roger’s not all perfect either as he is so caught up with his ex-girlfriend who left him without any explanations. It took him a long while to realize when he should let go. It took a while for both of them to open up to each other, but I think that everything eventually worked out just fine.

And of course I can’t end this review without mentioning Lucien. I saved the best for last. 😛 Well, he’s one of my favorite parts. Who is Lucien? He’s Roger’s ex-girlfriend’s brother who Amy and Roger met during one of their detours. I am very much intrigued by this lovely man with the Southern accent and manners with a passion for topiary sculptures. His entrance was really funny too! I was totally shipping Amy and Lucien. He’s just so kind and sweet. And Lucien understands Amy in the way dysfunctional families work. He’s attractive with a soft heart. What more could I ask for? Oh, that he was real and actually mine. 😛

I think that this book is unique in a lot of ways. Morgan Matson’s writing is clever and funny. But there were also very touching moments. There was a part near the end where I actually squealed. Usually, I can contain it, but at that time, I just couldn’t because swoooon. I also like how she actually went on the roadtrip herself and got lost along the way too because of the adventure it presented. The pictures of the places were all taken by her.

**************************************************

OVERALL,  Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour  was in fact epic to me, and quite refreshing too. One must definitely take a chance on this book. It shows how people deal with grief and loss, and eventually coming to terms with it. But what I like more is the setting that constantly changes, and all the different people to meet. I just adore the book and all the wonder it instilled in me. Out of all the books I’ve read, this is definitely on the top of my favorite travel books. This is a book that is so good that I didn’t want it to end. I just love how Amy and Roger set out without actual plans. They had different intentions in doing so, but I loved what they found through it all.

“The best discoveries always happened to the people who weren’t looking for them.”

Kayla @ The Thousand Lives enticed me to read Second Chance Summer, but this book screamed “GO BUY IT!” because Morgan Matson somehow just does that to you. Unfortunately I’m broke so maybe soon.

RATING:

5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
12 thoughts on “Book Review: Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson

  1. You know my feels. I really wish Lucien was mine too. Why isn’t he real and mine?!?!?! *internal cries forever to be heard*

    You indeed saved the best for last ❤

    LUCIEN ❤ ❤ can we have a book only about Lucien?

  2. This sounds amazing! I know what you mean, I have heard about it but it’s something I’d buy unless all the other books weren’t there. Like what happened to you 🙂
    It sounds so good – I’ve never been on a road trip but even the blurb makes me want to. All those extra bits inside it are pretty cool.
    Maybe I’ll have to read it next month…

      • Same 😦
        In Australia you’d need a caravan or something because there aren’t many towns and it would be a LOT of driving to get to one. Plus it wouldn’t be quite the same.
        Why can’t you go? Have you ever been on one before?

      • Do you have wide expanses of roads? No places to stop and whatnot?
        Well, I don’t really know how to drive. And I’m usually too busy. And too broke from buying so many books. Haha! Plus I’m not sure I’d survive on my own and I don’t know if anyone would want to go with me. 😛

  3. I just picked this one up at the end of last year and so I am right there with you about why did I wait so long to read!? It was one of the best books I read last year and I put it up there with my contemporary favorites. I love every single one of the characters (which is rare for me!) especially all the fun people they met on the trip. It was great getting to know them even if for a few chapters.

  4. WELLLLL you totally sold me this book, haha. No doubt adding this to my to-read list! Loving that Jack’s Mannequin was on Roger’s playlist! One of my favorite bands 🙂 Great review!!!

    • Aawww. I’m so glad to hear that! And I like how you also found your own favorite band in Roger’s playlist. I love how there are so many different songs. Maybe there’s one for everyone? 😛

Leave a Reply

