Book Review: Paper Towns by John Green

mm-journeys-january

A journey to find the mysterious girl

No matter how we start, we can never plan what happens in between until the end. – Francine

break-1

favorite

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

Title: Paper Towns
Author: John Green
Publication Date: September 22, 2009
Publisher: Speak
Series: N/A
Format: Paperback
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs back into his life—dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge—he follows.
After their all-nighter ends and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues—and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer he gets, the less Q sees of the girl he thought he knew.

banner-book-babble

For the longest time, I had considered Paper Towns as my favorite John Green novel ever since I first read it around 2 or 3 years ago. Of all the books I read, I think that this one has been the most unforgettable to the point that I knew each and every scene coming while re-reading it. And that says a lot because my memory recall is really bad. I’m not really sure why, but this story literally stuck to me. And I loved re-reading this book just for the writing that evokes deep thoughts, excitement, and laughter.

“It is easy to forget how full the world is of people, full to bursting, and each of them imaginable and consistently misimagined.”

Quentin Jacobsen has always kept his eyes on Margo Roth Spiegelman despite of how they stopped being friends for a really long time. However, he’ll see how different Margo really is the closer he looked. When Margo suddenly appeared at his window asking him  to go on a mission with her, he reluctantly agreed. He thought that things went so well together between the two of them, but Margo remains an enigma. When Margo disappears leaving him clues, he just had to solve them and find her.

I pretty much liked everything about this book. I love Quentin’s group of friends – Ben and Radar. They’re all really great friends, and they’re hilarious together. I especially like how Radar said how each one of them don’t always agree about everything, but they accept each other anyway. I loved Margo’s plan on exacting revenge (although I wouldn’t want to be on the receiving end of it), and how she thought of Q to go with her. I loved the whole journey Q went through looking for Margo but also seeing deeper into her. I loved the road trip part the most.

“All those paper people living in their paper houses, burning the future to stay warm. Everyone demented with the mania of owning things. All the things paper-thin and paper-frail. And all the people, too.”

It brings attention to all the paper towns and all the paper people – so fake and fragile that they’re worse than plastic. It calls into question all the things we aspire and embrace. Like the paper towns in the book, we build for our future. Yet our future is never really certain, and the things we once started are abandoned to rot and be forgotten.

“Maybe by imagining these futures we can make them real, and maybe not, but either way we must imagine them.”

Of course, John Green won’t leave us hopeless and lost. 😛 It’s true that we don’t know what may come, but it doesn’t mean we shouldn’t hope and dream for things to come. By thinking about the future, we strive to achieve it. I think what matters is what we want and what we do to get there. It matters how we live in the present.

“The town was paper, but the memories were not.”

**************************************************

OVERALL,  Paper Towns is an unforgettable adventure to find the mysterious girl. It entertains with its exciting plot, and it left me reflective of the ideas of paper people. I just loved everything about this book – characters, narrative, road trip, etc. With John Green’s wit and humor, what’s not to like? I would definitely recommend this book.

RATING:

5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
6 thoughts on “Book Review: Paper Towns by John Green

  1. I am so glad to hear that you loved this book! I am planning on reading through Green’s books in the next year, so I I love hearing when people love his other books (outside of The Fault in Our Stars). 🙂

  2. This is one of my favorite books! John Green is just so perfect. Every single one of his books is amazing. Looking For Alaska will always be my fav because it was my first John Green, however, they are all great!

  3. I did really enjoy this novel, but I didn’t enjoy it as much as I enjoyed his other books (still haven’t read Looking for Alaska and An Abundance of Katherines yet), but this was my least favorite from the books I have read. But I’m glad to hear that you really enjoyed it!

Leave a Reply

