Book Review: I Dream of Zombies by Charlotte Gerber

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

Title: I Dream of Zombies
Author: Charlotte Gerber
Publication Date: October 28, 2013
Genre: Fiction: Humor and Mystery
Series: Rose Lee’s Zombie Adventures #1
Acquisition: Reach for the Stars Marketing

Purchase at: Amazon / Createspace

Being a zombie counselor was not Rose Lee’s dream job. However, there was a growing need for people who were willing to work with clients that smelled bad, were falling apart, and had a propensity for bad behavior. She decided to put her college degree to work, and try to help out her fellow man, or rather fellow zombies.
When Rose meets a soon-to-be zombie waitress at the Crispy Biscuit, things go from bad to worse. She tangles with zombie landlords, zombie hunters, undercover zombies and mercenaries, just to name a few.
Rose tackles all of her problems straight on, whether she is taking out a thug in the supermarket parking lot or saving a cop’s life at the playground. She battles the dark underbelly of post-apocalypse Hornellsville, and proves that she is more than just a pretty girl named after a famous stripper.

banner-book-babble

This is not your normal zombie book. There will be no hordes or mobs running after you. There will be no brain-eating. What the what? Well, that is the main reason I chose to read this book being the scaredy cat that I am. I Dream of Zombies has a very interesting concept behind it, but the writing just didn’t work for me.

Years after the Zombie Apocalypse, both humans and zombies have settled down and had formed a society that mostly works for all. Zombies can be kept in the asylums or given homes with the help of the government and social workers like Rose Lee. The zombie virus was treated as a disease. I actually found this part of the story very interesting when the author explains how the community functions and how the zombie disease affects the infected and the vaccinated.

I also liked Rose’s character. She was a really tough cookie who didn’t need men to always protect her. She’s kind-hearted and caring, and she works really hard to help all of the zombies who have been abandoned by the rest of humanity.

As much as I love those parts of the book, I think that a lot of it just didn’t feel right.

Let’s start with the title – I Dream of Zombies. I just loved that title and it drew me into reading this book. I think this comes from the fact that Rose dreams of her uncle as a zombie. But I do not see the relevance of it to Rose or the plot of the story. So what if she dreams about that? What does it have to do with the whole thing? I really don’t understand and it wasn’t even explained at all. I’m not sure if it’s going to be explained in the next book, but a hint of a coming explanation would have been nice. Instead I am left flummoxed by the whole irrelevance of it.

There was also a very unnatural shift in point of views that it became really confusing. I doubt that it was the formatting considering my copy came directly from Amazon. Or maybe the format for the one sold in stores has not been done properly. Or maybe it really is just the writing. The story starts out and is mostly told through Rose, but every now and then, more will be shown on the side characters that Rose cannot narrate. I have nothing against this because other authors have done this quite fine. But the way it was done just felt really wrong because there were no proper breaks and the different POVs would overlap. The writing is just clunky, and I think the whole book should be proofread and edited.

The last thing I would like to comment on is how the romance felt out of place or maybe the development just wasn’t done well. It started really awkward and the characters didn’t really mesh well. It wasn’t really working for Rose and Alex, and the author just made it more complicated by making it a love triangle. And I couldn’t care less about those two guys! They were just uncomfortably straightforward that it just felt inappropriate, especially with the dangers surrounding them. Maybe they should be given more intimate moments. I’m not really sure how to improve this one, but the bottom line is that the plot would still work out just fine without the romance.

**************************************************

OVERALL, I Dream of Zombies is a book that’s hard to appreciate. I really like the concept, but the writing fell short. It was mildly entertaining with a good main character, but it also leaves the reader more questions than answers. I’m not really sure if it would be resolved in the sequel, but this book doesn’t give me much confidence. It’s not for me, but if anyone’s interested in a different look on zombies then maybe you can check this one out.

RATING:

1.5-star

Charlotte GerberCHARLOTTE GERBER lives in upstate New York on a farm with her military family, along with numerous rescued cats and dogs, a wide variety of chickens and eight ducks.
She has published two books: Murder in Middleton, and I Dream of Zombies.
Four books that will be published in the near future include: A Very Merry Middleton Christmas, Curiosity Killed the Cat, Zombie Asylum (Rose Lee’s Zombie Adventures – Book 2), and Angelique.
Prior to writing books full-time, Charlotte worked as a disability columnist for the New York Time’s About.com website. She has authored hundreds of articles across the Internet and continues to write self-help guides, book reviews, and guest posts as time allows.
Author Links:
BlogTwitterFacebook 

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
4 thoughts on “Book Review: I Dream of Zombies by Charlotte Gerber

  1. Sorry to hear that the formatting was weird.

    This reminds me of a funny story that I think you will appreciate it. 🙂 We were reading The Moonstone in high school. My friend ordered her book off of Amazon. Halfway through the book, it changed from The Moonstone to The Autobiography of Malcolm X. There was a big mix-up in the printing house. 🙂

  2. It does sounds like it has a pretty cool concept, it really sucks that it didn’t follow through though. One of my big peeves with indie books are the formatting issues that you tend to find in them, but it’s pretty rare. I’m sorry this one just didn’t quite work out.

Leave a Reply

