Mini Book Reviews: Fangirl and The Fault in Our Stars

mm-fall-for-february

These reviews are dedicated to Sandra @ Sandra’s World of Books. I know you love both of these books so much, and I love them too. Thank you for pushing me to read Fangirl. May we find more books to love together.

break-1

Fall for the writer and the rancher

Love comes in all forms. – Francine

break-1

favorite

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

Title: Fangirl
Author: Rainbow Rowell
Publication Date: September 10, 2013
Publisher: St. Martin’s Griffin
Series: N/A
Format: Hardback
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

In Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, Cath is a Simon Snow fan. Okay, the whole world is a Simon Snow fan, but for Cath, being a fan is her life—and she’s really good at it. She and her twin sister, Wren, ensconced themselves in the Simon Snow series when they were just kids; it’s what got them through their mother leaving.
Reading. Rereading. Hanging out in Simon Snow forums, writing Simon Snow fan fiction, dressing up like the characters for every movie premiere.
Cath’s sister has mostly grown away from fandom, but Cath can’t let go. She doesn’t want to.
Now that they’re going to college, Wren has told Cath she doesn’t want to be roommates. Cath is on her own, completely outside of her comfort zone. She’s got a surly roommate with a charming, always-around boyfriend, a fiction-writing professor who thinks fan fiction is the end of the civilized world, a handsome classmate who only wants to talk about words . . . And she can’t stop worrying about her dad, who’s loving and fragile and has never really been alone.
For Cath, the question is: Can she do this? Can she make it without Wren holding her hand? Is she ready to start living her own life? And does she even want to move on if it means leaving Simon Snow behind?

banner-book-babble

“They were just stories, but stories weren’t just anything.”

Fangirl was a book I didn’t want to read until I got the hardback, and I can say that it was totally worth the wait! I actually want to get the paperback too just for the extras. I even own this book on Kindle. Is that enough proof that I love it? Cath was just really special and relatable, and she’s one of the few female protagonists that I love more than the other characters (I’m usually more enamored by the guys or other side characters so that’s something). She understands what it’s like to be consumed by the stories in books, but she’ll also learn life can’t always be about it. I like how she cares so much about her dad, a character I really loved too for being sweet and a little bit crazy. I can’t really say much about Wren because she wasn’t really much of a good sister or daughter for the most part of the book. I can’t say that I really love Levi either because what he did during the party was just wrong no matter what excuse he has. I like him, but I don’t love him.

OVERALL, there is so much to love about Fangirl, especially to those who are as addicted to books and into fandoms and fanfiction. This is a clean, fun, and emotional New Adult book that I would definitely recommend. Cath is a character who went through conflicts with her family, relationships, passion, and writing career, yet managed to learn from them and get past them. I admire her strength and genuine devotion to the things and people she loves. The humor sometimes fell flat for me, but I was still greatly amused by the writing. I totally cried with them during the 8th book scene! Despite the parts that didn’t work for me, Fangirl is still really awesome.

RATING:

4.5-star

break-1

Fall for one sick love story

Love comes in all forms. – Francine

break-1

favorite

Click on the image to open the Goodread's page

Click on the image to open the Goodread’s page

Title: The Fault in Our Stars
Author: John Green
Publication Date: January 1, 2012
Publisher: Dutton Books
Series: N/A
Format: Hardback
Acquisition: Bought

Purchase at: Amazon

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

banner-book-babble

All. The. Feels

“It would be a privilege to have my heart broken by you.”

Much has been said about The Fault in Our Stars, being John Green’s most popular book, and I say listen to every person that says how good it is, and that they may be tears. I first read this book way back in 2012 not knowing what I was getting. And I would like to quote the upcoming movie tagline that this is one sick love story. Out of all of John Green’s books, this is the most romantic one, but this is also the most heart-wrenching. I was certainly unprepared for the pain of this poignant tale.

“I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, and then all at once.”

This is one of the books that gave me one of the worst hangovers leaving me undone yet moved. I shall now start to use the word “love” a lot. I love love love Hazel Grace and Augustus, and I ship them hard. I usually want the guy for myself, but Hazel and Gus deserve each other. I love how they brought up that they shouldn’t be defined by their illnesses. I love how they are such imperfect characters, yet managed to be perfect in this story and even called each other beautiful. I love their relationship with their family and their friend, Isaac. I love how Gus calls her Hazel Grace that makes it so endearing, and Hazel calls him Augustus. I love it all, and I’m not sorry. I love how intelligent and witty the writing and the characters are. I adore how this book can make one laugh, think, cry, and love, and how it stays with me to the point of almost quoting the book when thinking about love and life. This is truly a masterpiece that deserves to be read and read again and again and again.

RATING:

5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
9 thoughts on “Mini Book Reviews: Fangirl and The Fault in Our Stars

  1. Oh stop it you :3 Both Fangirl and The Fault in Our Stars are one of my favorite books and I’m so glad you dedicated these to me I felt so honored ❤

    I am sure we will find other books we will both love, I'm telling you, it will happen and we will fangirl about it :3

  2. I loved Fangirl! And omg so true I want to get the paperback as well for the extra Carry On excerpts haha. I might borrow it from the library or something lol
    In terms of what Levi did at the party- I feel like it was okay, because it showed that he’s not completely perfect. I feel like it gave him a layer of depth as a character! (as in from a reader’s perspective. It wouldn’t necessarily be an acceptable thing if it was IRL haha)

    TFIOS ❤ ❤
    omggg I love that book. I love it so much. Seriously, if I were to describe it in one word that word would probably be FEELS. They're going to have to hand out boxes of tissues with tickets when the movie comes out lol

    • I wonder if we’ll get a copy here or if I’d have to order it from another country though.
      Hmmm. I guess that’s true. It’s just a sour spot for me because I’ve experienced similar things in real life. 😄

      That is definitely the perfect word to describe it. And that is definitely a good idea for a promotional material for the movie. Lol. But I think we’d have to bring our own. Haha

Leave a Reply

