DNF Mini Book Reviews: Unite, The Park Bench Test, Heartbeat

DNF: Did-not-finish

I’m not really sure how to do a DNF review because this is the first time I’ve done this, but I will mostly talk about why I couldn’t finish these books. I’m sure others loved them, but they just couldn’t work for me. I included the percentage of what I read based on what my Kindle App told me so the percentages include covers, acknowledgments, etc.

Unite the park bench test heartbeat

Look at those gorgeous covers. It’s such a waste that the content didn’t deliver. Just thinking about them and writing the reviews put me in a sour mood, but I had to trudge through because they were all review copies and I needed to produce an output.

banner-book-babble

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

Title: Unite
Author: Jamie Campbell
Publication Date: November 26, 2013
Publisher: Jamie Campbell
Series: Project Integrate #1
Format: eARC

Acquisition: Oops! I Read Again Tours

United They Stand.
Seventeen years ago an entire generation of aliens were sent to Earth in order to save their home planet and integrate into the human population. Now, those aliens are being hunted.
Amery Jones is your typical teenager, except for the fact she is an alien and a member of the government’s secret Project Integrate.
When Amery’s best friend Lola is kidnapped in order to get to her, there is only one person that can help – the exceedingly annoying and charming Lochie Mercury.
Together, Amery and Lochie must put aside their differences and attraction in order to rescue Lola before it’s too late.

I read 50% of this book.

This book made me so angry that I wanted to pull my hair out or punch the wall. Amery is possibly the most infuriating character I have ever met. I loathe her so much. What I hated most about her is how she hates Lochie so much. I do not understand this hate at all. As far as I see it, Lochie did one mean thing to her YEARS ago on their first day of school as children. They’re in high school now. Why hasn’t Amery grown up? Why does she still hate Lochie so much when he isn’t even doing anything awful? I just don’t understand it. She’s awful.

The pacing was really really really sloooooooow. I think the book’s first mistake was its synopsis. It gave away too much so you’re already expecting all these things that will take too long to develop. I had to read 50% of the book before Lola’s disappearance, and at that point I just didn’t care anymore. I even tried to skip to the ending, but I was way too apathetic of this book that I didn’t even read nor skim the last few chapters. So I don’t really know what happened after the 50% mark so feel free to enlighten me.

break-1

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

Title: The Park Bench Test
Author: Sarah Lefebve
Publication Date: September, 2013
Publisher: Harper Impulse
Series: N/A
Format: eARC

Acquisition: Harper Impulse through Netgalley

How do you know when you’ve found Mr Right?
Aspiring journalist Becky Harper loves her boyfriend Alex, but she doesn’t think he’s Mr Right.
Her best friend Emma doesn’t believe in Mr Right – she’s just looking for a man who will stick around longer than her dad did.
Katie has found her Mr Right and is planning her September wedding with her two best friends.
Debut author Sarah Lefebve asked her own friends and family how they knew they had found the elusive Mr Right and then turned their honest – and often surprising – answers into this charming, emotional and downright funny romance about three friends and their search for Mr Right – if he even exists that is…

I read 40% of this book.

This book actually wasn’t so bad. It was just BOOORIIIIING. This was actually a free read on Netgalley, and being a romantic comedy book lover, there was no second guessing in getting this book. I also really liked the premise, and I think that made me hope for too much. I’m not really sure I believe in Mr. Right, but I did want to know what the characters had to say about it. But this wasn’t really what I expected it to be. The 40% that I read already consisted of 28 chapters. 28 CHAPTERS and that was only 40% of the book.

 I will admit that there were parts that made me laugh, but I could not find myself to care about everything that’s happening. The title and synopsis promised me something that has to do with finding Mr. Right, which I barely glimpsed throughout the 28 chapters I read. I feel like the author spent too much time putting in unnecessary details. Or if they were necessary, they should at least feel relevant. Also, they kind of answered how they can tell it’s Mr. Right from the beginning. I’m not sure if there’s going to be a different answer. Honestly, I just don’t care anymore. This book has gone too far and has repelled me with trivial things.

break-1

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

Title: Heartbeat
Author: Elizabeth Scott
Publication Date: January 28, 2014
Publisher: Harlequin Teen
Series: N/A
Format: eARC

Acquisition: Harlequin Teen through Netgalley

Does life go on when your heart is broken?
Since her mother’s sudden death, Emma has existed in a fog of grief, unable to let go, unable to move forward–because her mother is, in a way, still there. She’s being kept alive on machines for the sake of the baby growing inside her.
Estranged from her stepfather and letting go of things that no longer seem important–grades, crushes, college plans–Emma has only her best friend to remind her to breathe. Until she meets a boy with a bad reputation who sparks something in her–Caleb Harrison, whose anger and loss might just match Emma’s own. Feeling her own heart beat again wakes Emma from the grief that has grayed her existence. Is there hope for life after death–and maybe, for love?

I read 70% of this book and then skipped to 90% until the end.

I decided to request for this book because so many people were raving about it. But I honestly couldn’t see why a lot of people loved this book. I will admit that the writing was good. That’s probably the reason I read a huge chunk of this book before giving up. It’s just that I couldn’t find myself to like the characters, especially Emma. I think she was the worst part of this book.

I could understand grieving. I have read many books where characters undergo so much. Problems may all be different, but grieving is all the same in sucking you into this dark unknown. What I really can’t stand is how Emma treated everything and her own family. Her apathy for a child’s chance at life is ridiculous. How could she even say all those awful things? It doesn’t help that this is her brother that she’s hating. Also, she’s so angry with Dan, but she doesn’t want Dan to forget about her or send her away. She keeps on saying that Dan doesn’t care for her or won’t hear her out, but she won’t even bother talking to him. She says she wants to stay with Dan and everything, but she keeps on pushing him away. Dan keeps on asking her to talk to him, but she wouldn’t do it. I don’t get her at all!

The pacing also felt really slow. It felt like nothing much was really happening in the book. It also felt repetitive. Emma kept on repeating the same thoughts over and over again so I wasn’t really getting much. It felt dragging.

break-1

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
4 thoughts on “DNF Mini Book Reviews: Unite, The Park Bench Test, Heartbeat

  1. I really like the covers of them all to be very honest – especially Heartbeat. But I have heard more people around the blogosphere not really enjoying this book.

Leave a Reply

