[Blog Tour] Book Review: Dracian Legacy by Priya Kanaparti

Dracian Legacy blog badge

Title: Dracian Legacy (Dracian #1)
Author: Priya Kanaparti
Date of Publication: October 31, 2013

Goodreads ll Amazon

Acquisition: REUTS Publications

banner-book-babble

I was quite misled by the provided synopsis for this book because it also gives hints for the sequels so I chose not to show it. If you want to read the synopsis; however, it’s on Goodreads. Click on the link above. I also wrote my own synopsis below.

Ren was raised up as a human and lived most of her life normally, until she comes of age and things start to change for her. Around a year after both her parent’s death, she meets Axel Knight, who has far too many secrets, to whom she has an inexplicable connection. Ren also feels drawn to her best friend, Dean, who kissed her four years ago and has acted like a jerk soon after. But guys are the least of her worries as she finds out that she’s not human. Ren discovers that she is the Echo, destined to end the war between the Dracians and Telalians. And there are pseudo-humans out to get her.

I found this book to be very intriguing and I just wanted to know everything. But I will be honest in saying that there were far too many questions and not enough answers. If you don’t like cliffhangers, you might want to wait until the other books are released. As for me, I was just left puzzled that I bothered Priya for answers. I didn’t get them though and now I have to wait for the rest of the books. I must say though that I did enjoy a lot of this book.

My favorite part about the book would definitely be meeting all those characters. I love how they are all unique and funny. Ren is one snarky protagonist who kept on making me laugh. Even at the face of death, you can trust her deliver a sarcastic line. I think the transition is really hard for her though because she only found out about who she is recently. She has some immature moments, but I love her mature side, especially when Axel told him about the burden he carried. I’d really love to know what Ren could be capable of as a Dracian and as the Echo. Axel Knight is one smooth guy who knows exactly what to say to melt Ren’s heart and also get him out of trouble. He’s also really good at evading questions, but at least he knows how to apologize. I really loved all the other guys as well, especially Ren’s overprotective brother, Joshua. The siblings are just adorable together with their playful banter yet caring spirits. Oh Joshua~ I also really love Tyler who seems to have no boundaries at being hilariously inappropriate. There are a lot of characters to love in this book, but I want to keep this short.

In the book, we only really get glimpses of Dracia, their homeland. From what I saw, I think that it’s a beautiful place that could leave one speechless. Maybe Ren will actually be able to visit it in the sequels. The book explains the history of the war between the Dracians and Telalians. It also showed the different abilities of different characters. I think Axel’s powers are the ones that were mostly displayed since he liked showing Ren. He can control air and anything around it. Other Dracians also have different abilities. I mostly like how Ren and Axel can communicate through their minds, not just with words but with pictures, emotions, etc. I think that would be something really nice to have with another person.

I love romance, but I think there was just hormones overload in this book. I guess if people like all the wanting, kissing, touching, making out, etc.  then they’ll love it. It was just too much for me. I will admit that there were some moments that I liked, but I could do without others.

Also, I would just like to comment that I like the older cover better because I think it represents more on what the book is about. The face of the girl doesn’t really say much about the book. But that’s a personal preference.

dracian legacy   dracian legacy

**************************************************

OVERALL, Dracian Legacy is intriguing, hilarious, and enjoyable. I loved the characters and the world that was built around the Dracian. I think there’s more to learn about these people and their homeland though. The synopsis was misleading to the point that the book felt a little incomplete. But I did really love a lot of this book that I wouldn’t even be needed to be persuaded to read the sequels. Just give them to me now! I would recommend this to people who like YA/NA Fantasy Paranormal books, but not to those who hate cliffhangers until the sequels are released.

RATING:

4-star

priya kanapartiPriya lives in the beautiful city of Boise, ID as a full-time working mom and part-time YA Novel Author. For the past 7+ years she has worked in multiple fortune 500 companies and has recently found the passion to read and write. The Dracian Legacy is her first YA paranormal romance series. She strongly believes that true love conquers all and that’s a common theme you’ll find within her novels.
You can find her online at: BlogFacebookPinterest  – Twitter

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
Leave a Reply

