ARC Book Novella Review: Entice by Erica Crouch

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

favoriteTitle: Entice
Author: Erica Crouch
Publication Date: November 18, 2013
Publisher: Patchwork Press
Series: Ignite #1.5
Format: eBook
Acquisition: Netgalley

Purchase at: Amazon

With the aftertaste of Heaven still strong, Pen and Azael cloak themselves in their new demonic destinies, fighting for Lucifer against the angels. Pen, warring against former friends turned vengeful enemies, still struggles with defecting to Hell. But in one short battle, they go from forgotten to famous, thrust into the spotlight where she has no room for uncertainty.
Suddenly top-tiered demons, they’re tasked with seeing through hell’s new agenda: corrupting man. But tarnishing Eden isn’t as simple as they thought it would be, especially when they’re forced to work with another team of demons who are trying to claw their way up the ladder of power.
Entice is an e-novella that prequels Pen and Azael’s story in Ignite.

banner-book-babble

The book covers for this series is just gorgeous, and I believe that the content also delivers. The first book of the series, Ignite, was just wonderful, but I think that this novella was even better. It’s making me really excited for the last book in the series. Since Entice is a prequel and since the story is based off of an old Biblical tale, the plot was pretty much predictable. But the way Erica Crouch made it her own and the story behind everything was definitely brilliant.

Words could become beautiful art when tied together the right way.

This line in the book speaks so true about the way Entice was written. Erica Crouch not only gave a story, but she also produced art and I was simply mesmerized. The way she put the words together was beautiful. Just beautiful. Reading it felt like opening my eyes, mind, and heart to the wonders of the written word. The attention to detail was simply superb that I was easily immersed into Pen’s world. A lot of Entice was actually mentioned in Ignite. I think the difference is that in Ignite you hear it, but in Entice you actually see it.

This book provides a great deal of insight on Pen and Azael’s characterization in Ignite, as it shows what exactly happened to make them who they are. It also showed a little of what went behind the scenes that explains how they got stuck on earth in Ignite, instead of being high up in the underworld’s social status.

This book starts with the war between the angels and the demons, Michael and Lucifer. Due to Azael’s bold move during the war, he assured that Lucifer would know who he is, and in turn Pen. But Az and Pen have different views and aspirations, and Pen’s insubordination will surely cause them a lot of trouble.

I turn to paper that I can bend and crease over and over into the strange shape of a warrior I’m now supposed to be.

Despite her own grievances, Pen had no choice but to follow Lucifer in order to keep her brother safe. I really really love Pen and how loyal she is to her brother, even when her brother was slowly losing himself. She’s a really strong female protagonist. But what I like most is seeing a side of Pen that we hadn’t really seen much in Ignite. In Entice, she still has the comfort of her own room, even though it’s in Hell. What I liked seeing mostly was all the clutter of books and papers that she had. I loved how she’s this really fierce demon that has perfect aim with throwing daggers, yet she’s also bookish. My favorite scene would have to be when Az was about to kick down one of her pile of books. She was just so endearingly adorable.

Another piece of him breaks, and I wonder where the pieces fall.

This line was about Az, and I honestly feel sad at how far he has fallen. I find his merciless side really scary. I think it’s easy for him to embrace the darkness, unlike Pen. I wish Pen could save him though. When Az isn’t being all scary, he’s actually a pretty nice guy. He can definitely make me laugh, and he also thinks a lot about Pen in his own little ways. I love his playful nature.

**************************************************

OVERALL,  Entice is one of the best novellas I’ve ever read, and it is just perfect. It is beautifully written and full of substance. Despite being a novella, it felt like a complete story and it could have may as well been a main book in the series. I wasn’t really expecting much from this book. That’s why I put it off for so long. But I was simply surprised with how much it gave me – beautiful, poetic words; humor and wit; real and relate-able characters. I didn’t even mind that there wasn’t any romance in the book. Entice made me fall more in love with the siblings, Pen and Az. I definitely loved this more than the first book, and I want the last book, Incite, as soon as possible!

RATING:

5-star

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
3 thoughts on “ARC Book Novella Review: Entice by Erica Crouch

  1. When I first looked at your post, I immediately fell in love with the book cover. I laughed when you said that the book met the cover’s expectations. 🙂

Leave a Reply

