Mythology March

mm-mythology-march

This month’s theme! Well, mostly anyway. 😛 I’ve read a couple of books based on mythology. Sadly, a lot of them are based on Greek mythology. I don’t really know a lot that’s based on other mythology. I found one that’s based on Irish myth (The Carrier of the Mark) and one based on Egyptian myth (The Chaos of Stars). Other than that, all Greek. I find these kinds of reads fascinating because most often than not, it’s like a little education on these mythologies. I studied in a very conservative Christian school and these things were never really taught and looked down upon so I’m usually clueless about them. The closest I got was the Disney movie, Hercules, which I soon found out was very inaccurate.

What are the mythology-based fictional books that you know? Do you know books that are based on mythologies other than Greek ones? What are your favorites?

I won’t be having a giveaway for this one because I’m currently broke. XD

break-1

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

12 thoughts on “Mythology March

  1. All of Rick Riordan’s books are mythology based: Percy Jackson (Greek), Heroes of Olympus (Roman/Greek, best read after Percy), and Kane Chronicles (Egyptian). Then there is Ink by Amanda Sun (Japanese), Loki’s Wolves by Kelley Armstrong & Marissa Marr (Norse), Valkyrie Rising (Norse), Undeadly by Michelle Vail (Egyptian), and Sweet Venom by Tera Lynn Childs (Greek). I haven’t read some of these but I do own them.
    I love mythology based books, so this month’s theme is right up my alley. My favorites are Rick Riordan’s novels. I’m really hoping to see some more Japanese and Norse books come out.

    • I’ve only read Ink from that list. Lol. But thanks for the recommendations, Michelle. I should definitely go pick up Rick Riordan’s books when I get the chance. So many people love them and I am intrigued. 😀

  2. Well, I was going to add in my two cents about Percy Jackson, but I think Michelle has got you covered! Can’t wait to see what you think about Chaos of Stars. I always pass it in the store but never really looked into it.

  3. This is a great theme! I recently got a couple of mythology books I liked. It’s funny because I haven’t read any before and suddenly I was on a mythology strike. I am totally in love with the Lunangelique series. You will encounter some grammar issues, but the story more than makes up for it. Here are my reviews for Lunangelique and Sleeping Gods. Lunangelique is actually free on amazon right now. The other one is Muse Unexpected. The original thing about this book is that it focuses on muses rather than Gods and Demigods, but it mixes them up with some non-greek characters, like globlins. That was a bit weird. But the story was fun. Not the best, though. And of course, I know you read My Ex From Hell which we both know is some heck of a read. I hope you find some great mythology books.

    • I checked out your review of Lunangelique! 😀 Thank you for letting me know it’s free. I just downloaded it. 😛
      And yes, The Blooming Goddess Trilogy is awesome! Thanks Valeria 😀

  4. I love mythology, which is why is wrote Hope’s Decree (Pandora’s Box twist). Here are two mythological series on my TBR list: Starcrossed (Starcrossed, #1) by Josephine Angelini and I can’t believe I didn’t know about this sooner because Jennifer Armentrout is one of my favorite authors, but I just learned (after reading Origin), she has a mythology series… Half-Blood (Covenant, #1) is the first one. So, YAY, I’m super excited about your mythology month and can’t wait to see what you post next. You’re the first one I’ve ever noticed to come up with March Mythology book month! So freaking cool. Okay, I’m going to stopping now. Enjoy your reads 🙂

Leave a Reply

