DNF Book Review: Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon

mm-mythology-march

Irish Myth

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page.

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page.

Title: Carrier of the Mark
Author: Leigh Fallon
Publication Date: October 1, 2011
Publisher: Harper Teen
Series: Carrier #1
Format: Paperback
Acquisition: Free from a giveaway

Their love was meant to be.
When Megan Rosenberg moves to Ireland, everything in her life seems to fall into place. After growing up in America, she’s surprised to find herself feeling at home in her new school. She connects with a group of friends, and she is instantly drawn to darkly handsome Adam DeRÍs.
But Megan is about to discover that her feelings for Adam are tied to a fate that was sealed long ago—and that the passion and power that brought them together could be their ultimate destruction.


banner-book-babble

I didn’t really expect anything before I read this book even though I’ve heard bad things about it. I hadn’t really read reviews though. I think it would have saved me a lot of time if I actually did. I think the only thing I liked about this book was the use of Irish mythology because I mostly see Greek mythology in books. I wasn’t able to read much on this though.

This book just didn’t sit right with me. The first chapter was actually pretty okay. And then things started to go awry. After page 179, I told myself that I could no longer go on. What ticked me off you might ask? I think it was the fact that this book was way too much like Twilight by Stephanie Meyer. I haven’t actually read the books and I have no opinion about them, but I have seen all 4 (5?) movies just because my mum loves them. I’m not sure why. Here’s a list of the things that I noticed:

  1.  Female moves into a new place
  2. Small town. Everyone knows each other
  3. The town likes talking about a certain family and how they are different
  4. Said family doesn’t socialize with anyone.
  5. Girl calls attention of guy from said family
  6. What are you? Vampire. (Just Kidding!) They are different though
  7. Someone from said family doesn’t like the female protagonist.
  8. Someone from said family likes the female protagonist

And on and on. Which calls into question how this book was ever published. To see a better version and a better comparison of this book to Twilight, here is a really good review by Steph @ Cuddlebuggery, where she shows so many similarities ( a couple of which I missed). This is the first review that shows up on Goodreads for ‘Community Reviews.” I’m not friends with Steph and I haven’t really interacted with her at all, but I do think that her review holds a lot of weight.

**************************************************

OVERALL, I personally wouldn’t recommend this book. At all. This is just so wrong in so many levels. I honestly don’t understand how this book was published, in a well-established publishing company no less. Did anyone even bother to check on this? I don’t really understand. Maybe it will appeal to Twilight fans, but BIG similarities like these are a big no-no for me.

RATING:

Did-Not-Finish

break-1

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
5 thoughts on “DNF Book Review: Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon

  1. that sounds exactly like Twilight… I did quite enjoy the Twilight books, I mean, I wanted easy books that were easy to read and I didn’t have to think so much about them, and Twilight was perfect, because they weren’t written that well, but they were easy. I have seen this book around, and it looked okay, but not specifically a book I wanted to read. Some really liked it though! I hope your next read is better 🙂

  2. Well I appear to have given this book two stars, but I can honestly say that I remember nothing about it. Clearly not too memorable then, haha. It definitely sounds like there are a few too many Twilight parallels though!

  3. Yea, I basically felt like this was Twilight fanfiction, where instead of being vampires, the Cullens had control over the elements. It felt like Fallon changed the setting/details, but kept a lot of the same themes. I wouldn’t have minded (so much) if I had enjoyed the story at all, but I couldn’t get past how much I wasn’t shipping the romance, which Carrier of the Mark relies on quite heavily.

  4. I’ve been curious about this series but I’ve heard how similar it is to Twilight, quite frankly I think reading that series once was more than enough. I might check it out when I’m in one of my ‘morbidly curious’ moods where I choose books everyone else hates. 😛 I’m sorry you couldn’t get into it.

Leave a Reply

