Book Review: My Ex From Hell by Tellulah Darling

mm-mythology-march

Greek Myth

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

favoriteTitle: My Ex From Hell
Author: Tellulah Darling
Publication Date: April 1, 2013
Publisher: Te Da Media
Series: The Blooming Goddess Trilogy #1
Format: ebook
Acquisition: YA Bound Tours

Sixteen-year-old Sophie Bloom wishes she’d been taught the following:
a) Bad boy’s presence (TrOuBlE) + teen girl’s brain (DraMa) = TrAuMa (Highly unstable and very volatile.)
b) The Genus Greekulum Godissimus is notable for three traits: 1) awesome abilities, 2) grudges, and 3) hook-ups, break-ups, and in-fighting that puts cable to shame.
Prior to the Halloween dance, Sophie figures her worst problems involve adolescent theatrics, bitchy teen yoga girls, and being on probation at her boarding school for mouthy behaviour. Then she meets bad boy Kai and gets the kiss that rocks her world.
Literally.
This breath stealing lip lock reawakens Sophie’s true identity: Persephone, Goddess of Spring. She’s key to saving humanity in the war between the Underworld and Olympus, target numero uno of Hades and Zeus, and totally screwed.
Plus there’s also the little issue that Sophie’s last memory as Persephone was just before someone tried to murder her.
Big picture: master her powers, get her memories back, defeat Persephone’s would be assassin, and save the world. Also, sneak into the Underworld to retrieve stolen property, battle the minions of Hades and Zeus, outwit psycho nymphs, slay a dragon, rescue a classmate, keep from getting her butt expelled from the one place designed to keep her safe …
… and stop kissing Kai, Prince of the Underworld.
My Ex From Hell is a YA romantic comedy/Greek mythology smackdown. Love meets comedy with a whole lot of sass in book one of this teen fantasy romance series. Compared to Kai and Sophie, Romeo and Juliet had it easy.


banner-book-babble

Why did I take so long to read this book?! I am honestly sorry for judging this book by the cover, because the content was just wonderful. I’m not saying that the cover is bad. I just don’t think it’s as eye-catching as a lot of young adult novels. It’s actually prettier once you take a closer look. But I guess in a way, it was also good that I didn’t read it right away because I was able to binge read the whole series because Tellulah likes to keep us hanging.

My exposure to any form of mythology is limited so I love learning a little on it through this book. It wasn’t much of a history lesson, but it felt more memorable as I attached these gods/titans/etc. with the characters that I grew to love.

Sophie, aka Persephone, had been raised as a human throughout all 17 years of her life. She unexpectedly awakens a part of her inner goddess when the Prince of the Underworld kisses her. She finds out that there is more behind a couple of people she knows. She must also learn to control her abilities, stay alive in the midst of threat, and save the world. It doesn’t help that the said Prince can be so confusing but attractive, and may play a big role in the whole thing.

My favorite characters in this book would definitely be Sophie and her two best friends, Theo and Hannah. Sophie and Hannah practically grew up together while Theo has been with them through many years of boarding school. I personally find Sophie to be a very strong character growing up without much familial influences. She knows how to stand up for herself and fight back. But she also has her own vulnerabilities. I love Hannah for being a hot geek. I imagine her to look stunning, but she’s so nerdy that I can’t help but find her endearing. Theo’s more of a reserved character, but I could see how much he cared for his friends.

Another part of this book that I really loved was the chapter titles. Tellulah used common sayings, expressions or whatnot and changed them up a little. I personally found them amusing. Here’s an example:

Beauty is in the lie of the beholder

This first book sets up groundwork for the start of the series, but it also has a whole story of its own. I like how the identities of the characters close to Sophie were revealed. I think it really shaped up their development in the sequels.

**************************************************

OVERALL, My Ex From Hell is a compellingly awesome adaptation of Greek mythology with a modern twist. This book is so spectacular that it’s one of my favorite series starters ever. Tellulah Darling’s take on the characters and the story make this such a unique and hilarious read. I must warn about the cliffhanger in the ending of this book, although I wouldn’t really consider it devastating. Plus the series has been completed already so no need to wait. I recommend this to anyone who likes mythology adaptations, fantasy, humor, and a sassy female protagonist.

RATING:

5-star

break-1

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
5 thoughts on “Book Review: My Ex From Hell by Tellulah Darling

  1. From the blurb, I wasn’t sure if I wanted to read this book. But after reading your review, I’m more inclined towards reading it! 😀 I think I need to binge-read this too because I don’t like being left hanging. 😛

  2. I didn’t realize this was a retelling! I guess I’ve never actually read the blurb…haha

    I’ve read one other Darling book and I loved it! Finding out that this is a retelling just bumped it up my reading list 😀

  3. I didn’t realize that this was the first book in a series! I wanted to read this one, but I thought it was a later book in a different series. I will need to check it out now! 🙂

  4. Wow this book actually sounds really awesome. I always do like seeing what sorts of twists authors can put on Greek mythology, and this sounds like a very fun one. Since I tend not to read blurbs, I didn’t realise that the “ex from Hell” was literally the “ex from Hell” haha 😛

Leave a Reply

