Book Review: The Chaos of Stars by Kiersten White

mm-mythology-march

Egyptian Myth

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

Title: The Chaos of Stars
Author: Kiersten White
Publication Date: September 10, 2013
Publisher: HarperTeen
Series: N/A
Format: Paperback
Acquisition: Purchased

Kiersten White, New York Times bestselling author of Paranormalcy, is back with The Chaos of Stars—an enchanting novel set in Egypt and San Diego that captures the magic of first love and the eternally complicated truth about family.
Isadora’s family is seriously screwed up—which comes with the territory when you’re the human daughter of the ancient Egyptian gods Isis and Osiris. Isadora is tired of living with crazy relatives who think she’s only worthy of a passing glance—so when she gets the chance to move to California with her brother, she jumps on it. But her new life comes with plenty of its own dramatic—and dangerous—complications . . . and Isadora quickly learns there’s no such thing as a clean break from family.
Blending Ally Carter’s humor and the romance of Cynthia Hand’sUnearthly, The Chaos of Stars takes readers on an unforgettable journey halfway across the world and back, and proves there’s no place like home.


banner-book-babble

I love the cover and premise of this book, and I would say that it was a pretty solid read. I wouldn’t consider it spectacular though. As far as I can see, the only thing this book has going for it is the Egyptian mythology. We don’t really see a lot of that in YA fiction. There are also parts that made me laugh. I also liked that there was a little bit of Greek mythology. The plot and characters weren’t much though.

Isadora, mortal daughter of Isis and Osiris, has always felt like she was nobody. She felt that her family didn’t care much for her and probably wouldn’t even remember her. I kind of understand where Isadora is coming from being detached from her family, but I think it has left her more broken, fearful, and and weak. I feel sad for her, and I think that she isn’t a likable character with her stubbornness. She was also being a rebellious teenager. I did like her talent and passion for interior design though. And I like how the stars make her feel good or better.

I did feel though that the other characters weren’t given much time to shine. So add that to the unlikable protagonist and you have no one to root for. I’m not sure if it’s because she wanted to focus on Isadora, but I would have liked to have seen more of the side characters. I was actually hoping to read Ry’s poem, but I don’t think it was actually written because there wasn’t even a snippet of it. I did like Ry though. I just didn’t fall in love with him.

The plot was pretty predictable, but I think that watching Isadora navigate through this totally different world in America than the one she has lived in for all of her life in Egypt is definitely interesting. It’s kind of weird though that she knows some part of the modern world by watching movies or going on the internet, but she doesn’t know how to use a debit card. Anyway, for the most part of the book, it was about Isadora getting accustomed to the new place and meeting new people. There were bad dreams and a few threatening experiences, but the real danger mostly escalated near the end. And I pretty much figured out what was happening. It wasn’t very exciting, but it was entertaining.

**************************************************

OVERALL, The Chaos of Stars is good for light reading and learning a little Egyptian mythology. The characters aren’t that notable, and the plot wasn’t really anything new. But I did enjoy reading this book and I was mildly amused by Kiersten White’s take on things. She even made me laugh a couple of times. But I don’t think any part of The Chaos of Stars hit me or just stuck to me.

RATING:

4-star

break-1

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
7 thoughts on “Book Review: The Chaos of Stars by Kiersten White

  1. I just finished this the other day and I felt quite similarly about it. I enjoyed it well enough, but nothing was super memorable.

  2. I’m really fascinated by Egyptian mythology, especially retellings because every other mythology-related book seems to be about Greek mythology. I feel that I wouldn’t like Isadora that much either, but the cover and premise just call out to me! Haha! Great review, Francine!

  3. Your last paragraph pretty much sums up how I feel about the book too! It was enjoyable, but not anything super fresh. The cover is so pretty though :3

  4. Aw that’s a shame. You’re right though, there isn’t much YA based on Egyptian mythology around – or characters that like interior decorating. I don’t know if you have read the author’s other books, the Paranormalcy trilogy, but I felt they lacked plot as well. I think I gave them four stars as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

