A Look Back at March

march-1

I am very proud of my banner. Somewhat. XD Thank you Graphics Fairy for the photos and Ultralinx for the fonts. And thank you to my brother who sent me the links and gave me ideas. 😛

Also, this is a very late wrap up post…

What I Read: 

BOOKS

a date of godlike proportions dracian legacy carrier of the mark meridian my life from hell savor twelve steps til death the chaos of stars the geography of you and me hope's decree Life, Love & Lemons how zoe made her dreams mostly come true between shades of gray

  1. A Date of Godlike Proportions by Tellulah Darling – 4 stars
  2. Dracian Legacy by Priya Kanaparti – 4 stars
  3. Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon (DNF at p.179 out of 342)
  4. Meridian by Amber Kizer – 3 stars
  5. My Life from Hell by Tellulah Darling – 5 stars
  6. Savor by Kate Evangelista – 3 stars
  7. Twelve Steps by Veronica Bartles – 4 stars
  8. Til Death by Kate Evangelista – 4 stars
  9. The Chaos of Stars by Kiersten White – 4 stars
  10. The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith – 5 stars
  11. Hope’s Decree by Angela McPherson – 4.5 stars
  12. Life, Love & Lemons by Magan Vernon – 4 stars
  13. How Zoe Made Her Dreams (Mostly) Come True by Sarah Strohmeyer- 4 stars
  14. Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys – 5 stars

mm-mythology-march

What I Reviewed:

  1. Carrier of the Mark by Leigh Fallon
  2. My Ex from Hell by Tellulah Darling
  3. A Date of Godlike Proportions by Tellulah Darling
  4. My Life from Hell by Tellulah Darling
  5. The Chaos of Stars by Kiersten White
  6. Hope’s Decree by Angela McPherson

What I Rambled about:

  1. Monthly Motif: Mythology March
  2. Cover Consideration: Good Gods series by Staci Hart
  3. Auto-buy Authors: Tellulah Darling
  4. Random Ramblings: Mythology Books List

What I Recommend:

my ex from hell

break-1

Other Reviews:

  1. Dracian Legacy by Priya Kanaparti
  2. Entice by Erica Crouch
  3. Twelve Steps by Veronica Bartles

Other Ramblings:

  1. Epic Recs: March 2014
  2. Wanting & Waiting: On the Fence by Kasie West
  3. Book Blitz: Falling from the Sky by Nikki Godwin
  4. Tour Excerpt: Othello by C.E. Wilson
  5. Book Launch Recap: Til Death by Kate Evangelista
  6. Cover Reveal: Rough Waters by Nikki Godwin
  7. Building with Books: March Haul

Other Recommendations:

between shades of gray

break-1

The Awesome Saturdays of March

IMG_20140408_1318461. Best. Play. Ever.

March 1. I don’t know if any one knows this about me, but I love watching live plays or musicals. I was actually supposed to watch The Book Thief that day, I think. But things didn’t work out. Instead my second brother invited me to watch a play at the university. I loved watching plays there even though they’re all not good. Something about these live productions just appeals to me. But this one, Games People Play, was the best I’ve watched there so far. The set was so simple – made out of brown cardboard. There were only three characters and they didn’t require costumes. They all wore the same clothing in black throughout the whole play even though the times and scenes change. There were some props that they used, but it was all so minimal. But the writing and the acting were just so mind-blowing.

2. Family Day / The Fellowship of the Ring

This one isn’t actually about me. This is more about my younger brother. He still goes to high school while the rest of us went to college. And he’s the only one whose age is far from us. We’re 23, 21, 20 and 17 respectively. The 3-6 age gap is pretty huge. Needless to day, when Family Day happened before, my older brothers and I were all still in the same school so we could all go together. But now, my younger brother is the only one in high school. And the thing is, my parents aren’t always present for these kinds of things, and I guess my little brother gets sad having to go alone. So my second brother and I went with him even though all we did there is eat and hang out. There were supposedly some activities you can do together, but there were too many students and families and not enough facilities. But at least we were there for him.

We also started The Lord of the Rings trilogy by watching The Fellowship of the Ring.

til death book launch3. Meeting Kate Evangelista / The Two Towers

I already posted about this on my blog actually. You can find the post here. I must say that it was definitely an awesome day for me. She was a really fun and sweet author. I own and read all of her books so it was pretty cool to actually meet her. It was my first author event too. She’s probably the only local author that I support, mostly because she writes stories set in America and I like reading those type of things. I actually have a hard time understanding Filipino references most of the time because my Filipino isn’t so good.

And I watched The Two Towers with my younger brother.

IMG_20140408_1319134. Divergent Movie / The Return of the King

I met up with my best friend to watch Divergent. He found it very confusing though. For me, it was pretty okay. There were some changes – some good, some bad. The music was wonderful. I’m just not sure it fits. But I must say that Theo James was definitely appealing.

And my younger brother and I watched The Return of the King. Also extended version. I don’t know how many times I’ve seen the trilogy, but I still love it. The movies are awesome. And I’m quite afraid to read the books in fear of hating the movies. XD

IMG_20140408_1344225. BEACH TRIP!!!

Enough said. Haha! I just love this trip so much because I badly needed the vacation. But when I got there, I didn’t want to leave. The place was just so beautiful, and it was nothing like the city. It felt so clean and wonderful. I wanted to stay there forever, except I’d probably have bad sun burn most of the time. 😛 But there are umbrellas anyway! I actually didn’t even really tan despite being in the sun for a day. My skin did peel though.

It was actually a work outing so it was just me and my brother with all our other workmates. I felt so grown up because of it. No adult supervision at all. Plus the bosses paid for everything – food, transportation, lodging.

break-1

What about you? How was your March? Did anything good happen? Did you read any good books or do any fun thing?

break-1

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

10 thoughts on “A Look Back at March

  1. Quite a few books you have read there, Francine 🙂 I hope April will be just as good. I still have to go watch the Lord of the Rings movies. Hehe. A friend in the US watched the first one -extended- with me over Skype, but we never got to the rest of the series.

    • *blushes* Thank you! 😀
      They are very much awesome. I think they’re my favorite. Haha!
      And I’m halfway into April, but I think March was more eventful. 😛 Although I’ll be meeting three awesome authors soon so that should make my moth better. XD

  2. I feel like I’ve just met my twin..
    I had to DNF Carrier of the Mark, as well! About the same page, too! (I think I may have read just a little bit more). It seriously got a bad case ridiculous cliché’s.
    Also, I have this crazy love/obsession for theatre and live performances! (I am actually going to see the Lion King soon!) But yeah, the play you described sounds Brecht. They are completely minimalists with few actors and props, generally in theatre blacks, with a crazy scene/time changes and have amazing scripts.
    I’m ranting, but what you described is my favourite kind of theatre! It’s so engaging and really makes you think! Good to hear you liked Games People Play. (:

    Going to the beach is always relaxing. Lucky you! Love the picture, by the way.

    Oh, and your banner is awesome! That’s so creative!

    • Well, I am a Gemini so maybe I do have a twin out there. Hahaha!
      Definitely. It bothered me so much!
      I hope you enjoyed Lion King! I would definitely love to see that one. Actually, I’d love to see any kind. XD I haven’t heard of Brecht, but the style is definitely unique. 😀
      And I love when people talk a lot so no worries!
      I haven’t really been much of a beach person, but after that trip, I want to go to the beach again. Right away if I could. Haha
      Thank you so much! 😀

Leave a Reply

