ARC Book Review: Fates by Lanie Bross

fates

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

Title: Fates
Author: Lanie Bross
Publication Date: February 11, 2014
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Series: Fates #1
Format: eARC
Acquisition: Netgalley/Delacorte Press

One moment. One foolish desire. One mistake. And Corinthe lost everything.
She fell from her tranquil life in Pyralis Terra and found herself exiled to the human world. Her punishment? To make sure people’s fates unfold according to plan. Now, years later, Corinthe has one last assignment: kill Lucas Kaller. His death will be her ticket home.
But for the first time, Corinthe feels a tingle of doubt. It begins as a lump in her throat, then grows toward her heart, and suddenly she feels like she is falling all over again–this time for a boy she knows she can never have. Because it is written: one of them must live, and one of them must die. In a universe where every moment, every second, every fate has already been decided, where does love fit in?

banner-book-babble

If you’re like me, you probably thought that this book is based off of the Greek mythological sister fates. I think that you might need to think again. Apart from being sisters who take care of the fates, I think that’s pretty much the only similarities there are. This book doesn’t even mention Greek mythology at all. I think this is more of taking a familiar concept and forming a story out of it. I think I figured this out somewhere along the start of the book, and I thought I’d just go along with it even though it wasn’t what I expected.

The book started out okay – it wasn’t much, but it was interesting enough to keep reading. And then I reached the 33% mark and things got ridiculous as Lucas lusts over Corinthe while she holds a knife to his neck. What kind of human thinks that “oh, I want to kiss this person who is trying to kill me.” But despite that, I kept on going.

I must admit that I hated the romance the whole way through. Lucas and Corinthe’s relationship was so unstable – full of betrayal, hostility, and lust. The relationship just didn’t make any sense at all. I don’t understand why they like each other. And any mention of some romantic thing between them annoyed me to no end. It doesn’t help that I didn’t like any of the characters.

Also, the antagonist was revealed early on in the book. And Corinthe just magically found out who it was. She just “felt it.” And when the antagonist’s plans were foiled, she just walked away. She had this whole elaborate plan that was years in the making, and she just walks away after that one failure. I don’t get it.

I did find the Crossroads to be interesting though, seeing all the different places Lucas and Corinthe ended up in, especially meeting Rhys who is the only character I liked for being kind, wise, and dedicated. Most of the story actually consisted of them going through the different places, which were fascinating.

For what it’s worth, I was able to finish the book instead of marking it as DNF, although I did go really slow.

**************************************************

OVERALL, Fates is not what I expected it to be and not in a good way. I am disappointed to say that this book is just not for me. I couldn’t care for the characters nor the romance. I couldn’t care for the plot nor the writing. This book took too much of my time than it should have as I dragged myself to get through it. A lot of it just didn’t make sense, and I won’t even bother with the sequel.

P.S. Does the prettiness of the banner that I made counteract the negativity of this review? 😛

RATING:

1-star

break-1

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
10 thoughts on “ARC Book Review: Fates by Lanie Bross

  1. Well, this book is definitely going onto my list of books to avoid. I mean, wtf is with the lusting over someone about to kill you…and the “gut feeling” of someone being the antagonist…and the weird romance…yeah, doesn’t sound like the type of book I’d enjoy.

Leave a Reply

