Epic Recs: April 2014

This completely slipped my mind and I forgot to post about this early in the month. But anyway. This is my fifth (FIFTH!) Epic Recs month with Sandra @ Sandra’s World of Books. We’ve been doing this for almost half a year. Wow.

If you want to know more about Epic Recs, just click on the banner up there(it’s linked to the December post though so you might want to search for the most recent one). The basic gist is that we push each other to read a book this month. But basically, we’re just enabling each other’s book-buying addiction. Haha!

After Sandra’s rec last month, I was so done. Kidding. But it sure felt like it at the time I finished her last rec, Between Shades of Gray by Ruta Sepetys. That book. Just read that book. I think it’s one of the best I’ve read so far. And I feel like it changed me forever.

This month, Sandra pushed me to read How to Love by Katie Cotugno, which is nothing like I expected. Also, it was hard to procure this one as the bookstore ran out of copies. Thankfully, they got it in time for the month. I actually read it already. It was definitely poignant and well-written. I finished it in a day, sneaking it in between work when I could. I love Reena and her baby, Hannah. I’m just not sure I like Sawyer. But love is love, and I can see them all being a family.

how to love

For Sandra, I recommended Always and Forever by Karla J. Nellenbach. I won’t say much about this because I think that people should read this for themselves. But I do hope to discuss it with Sandra when she gets to it.

Always and Forever

Have you read any of these two books? What were your thoughts on them?

signature

One thought on “Epic Recs: April 2014

Leave a Reply

