[Book Tour] ARC Review: The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

the geography of you and me tour banner

 

Click on the banner to follow the rest of the tour

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

favorite

Title: The Geography of You and Me
Author: Jennifer E. Smith
Publisher: Headline | Poppy
Date of Publication: April 10, 2014 | April 15, 2014
Genre: contemporary YA romance
Acquisition: borrowed from Pinoy Book Tours

Lucy and Owen meet somewhere between the tenth and eleventh floors of a New York City apartment building, on an elevator rendered useless by a citywide blackout. After they’re rescued, they spend a single night together, wandering the darkened streets and marveling at the rare appearance of stars above Manhattan. But once the power is restored, so is reality. Lucy soon moves to Edinburgh with her parents, while Owen heads out west with his father.
Lucy and Owen’s relationship plays out across the globe as they stay in touch through postcards, occasional e-mails, and — finally — a reunion in the city where they first met.
A carefully charted map of a long-distance relationship, Jennifer E. Smith’s new novel shows that the center of the world isn’t necessarily a place. It can be a person, too.


banner-book-babble

If I had to choose a book to live in forever, I would probably choose The Geography of You and Me. I’m not really sure why, but there was just something magical about it and it made me feel so much for it. This is my third Jennifer E. Smith book, and I am in love with her writing. I think this may be my favorite so far.

This book was not what I expected it to be in a way that it made me very emotional. So many parts of the book touched or moved me with too many feels to the point that I felt goosebumps rising on my skin every few chapters. There is just something poignant about their relationship that consisted of few encounters, postcards, and lots of distance. They were divided by states, and countries, and continents.

“They were like a couple of asteroids that had collided, she and Owen, briefly sparking before ricocheting off again, a little chipped, maybe even a little scarred, but with miles and miles still to go.”

– The Geography of You and Me (ARC)

I actually found this book to be quite sad because they spent most of the time apart travelling to different places. In truth, Lucy and Owen barely knew each other, yet I wanted them to be together. Jennifer E. Smith had me convinced that they belong together as they understand so much about each other. In this book, they took their time, and they would probably take more, but they just might be meant to be. It left me hopeful.

I love everything about this book. I love how they met during a blackout in an elevator. I love how they created their own Pointe Zero. I love how the book was divided up into parts with its own title that meant something to Lucy and Owen. I love the characters. I love how everything fell into place. I love the postcards and the travelling. I love how it made me feel.I love it all.

**************************************************

OVERALL, The Geography of You and Me is a book that truly touched me. This book may have scarred me a bit too, as the beauty of it all etched into my heart and mind. This book deals with so many themes – long-distance relationships, loneliness, family problems, dreams, places, and so much more. I easily connected with the main characters as they underwent happiness and conflicts, and I felt that the pacing was just right. Jennifer E. Smith’s writing was perfect to me, and I can’t wait to get my own copy of this book.

RATING:

5-star

break-1

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
11 thoughts on “[Book Tour] ARC Review: The Geography of You and Me by Jennifer E. Smith

  1. Oh man, this sounds so good! I had heard it mentioned a couple of times before, but to be honest, it wasn’t really on my radar. Well, I’m definitely going to have to hunt down a copy at some point. Hopefully my library has it 😀

Leave a Reply

