ARC Book Review: Fragile Line by Brooklyn Skye

fragile line-1

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

recommendedTitle: Fragile Line
Author: Brooklyn Skye
Publication Date: April 21, 2014
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Series: N/A
Format: ebook
Acquisition: Entangled Teen

It can happen in a flash. One minute she’s kissing her boyfriend, the next she’s lost in the woods. Sixteen-year-old Ellie Cox is losing time. It started out small…forgetting a drive home or a conversation with a friend. But her blackouts are getting worse, more difficult to disguise as forgetfulness. When Ellie goes missing for three days, waking up in the apartment of a mysterious guy—a guy who is definitely not her boyfriend, her life starts to spiral out of control. 
Perched on the edge of insanity, with horrific memories of her childhood leaking in, Ellie struggles to put together the pieces of what she’s lost—starting with the name haunting her, Gwen. Heartbreakingly beautiful, this poignant story follows one girl’s harrowing journey to finding out who she really is.


banner-book-babble

I must say that there are a LOT of heavy reads that I simply can’t stand, but Fragile Line was not one of them. I was totally wary of reading this book that I’m not even sure why I requested for it, but I’m so glad that I did. This was so much better than I expected it to be. I was pretty much hooked from chapter one, and I had to keep reading. Everything about it was so compelling that I finished this book in a few hours. I’m just a little sad that I can’t bookmark or highlight the PDF, but I’ll make sure to get my own copy of this soon. This review might be very vague because I think that people should read this for themselves. It’s that good.

Ellie Cox lives the life that I’m afraid to live – losing a part of one’s self without even knowing it. I’ve seen people with mental disorders, and I fear of ever having one. I’m afraid of losing control of myself and my mind, and that is exactly what happened to Ellie. She suddenly finds herself in certain situations without even remembering what happened. When things started to get worse for Ellie, I just wanted her to tell someone already to the point of frustration, but I also understand her fear of doing so. I was happy when she finally started telling people because I think it’s important that people ask for help when they can’t handle something. I really loved Ellie, and I just wanted to hug her or hold her and make her feel okay.

Also, I really love Ellie’s boyfriend, Shane – sweet, caring, and loving Shane. He’s definitely not perfect and he has his own share of mistakes, but there is something about him. #nospoilers 😛 Let’s just say I wish there were more guys like him.

**************************************************

OVERALL, Fragile Line is a very compelling and well-written book that vividly tells the story of a girl inflicted with a mental disorder. It is heartbreaking, but hopeful. This book caught me by surprise, and I instantly fell in love. It deals with a lot of heavy stuff that made me feel for all the characters involved, and I personally like how Brooklyn Skye handled the different issues, the revelation of secrets and dark pasts, and the personalities of all the characters. I recommend this to anyone who wants a good contemporary read, and I will surely be one of the people to buy a copy.

RATING:

5-star

break-1

Do you like heavy reads? What do you think of books that deal with mental illnesses? Would you also be afraid to tell anyone if you were experiencing something you can’t control?

P.S. This book is releasing tomorrow so make sure to grab a copy!

break-1

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
2 thoughts on “ARC Book Review: Fragile Line by Brooklyn Skye

  1. I actually enjoy reading about mental illnesses. For whatever reason, Abnormal Psychology was my favorite class in college, even though I was an English major. So this book actually sounds like it’d be perfect for me! I think as long as the author is respectful in how he/she portrays the illness, there should be more books about it. They exist, so there should be some books about it, in my opinion.

Leave a Reply

