ARC Book Review: My Not So Super Sweet Life by Rachel Harris

my not so super sweet life

I think this banner will only make sense to those who have read the book. I wanted it to represent my favorite scene. I’m just not sure how successful I was on execution. I’m thinking not so much. 😛

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

Title: My Not So Super Sweet Life
Author: Rachel Harris
Publication Date: April 21, 2014
Publisher: Entangled Teen
Series: My Super Sweet Sixteenth Century #3
Format: ebook
Acquisition: Entangled Teen / Netgalley

Cat Crawford just wants to be normal—or at least as normal as a daughter of Hollywood royalty can be. And it looks like fate is granting her wish: she’s got an amazing boyfriend, Lucas; her fabulous cousin, Alessandra, living with her; and her dad planning his second marriage to a great future stepmom. That is, until her prodigal mother reveals on national television that she has something important to tell her daughter…causing a media frenzy.
Lucas Capelli knows his fate is to be with Cat, and he’s worked hard to win her over once and for all. Unfortunately, Lucas has his own issues to deal with, including a scandal that could take him away from the first place he’s truly belonged.
As secrets are revealed, rumors explode, and the world watches, Cat and Lucas discover it’s not fate they have to fight if they want to stay together…this time, it’s their own insecurities.
Well, and the stalkerazzi.

banner-book-babble

I was so excited to read this book that I requested it from both the publisher and from Netgalley, and I somehow ended up with two copies of this book. What can I say? I love Rachel Harris’s books that much that I badly wanted this book. This one’s extra special because it’s the last of the series, and I’ve been waiting for it ever since the release of A Tale of Two Centuries last year.

I’ve loved Cat Crawford ever since the first book of the series, and I was excited to get back to her story. But I must admit that I didn’t like Cat very much in this book. I felt like she was worse off than when she first started. At the face of her mother – someone who has been absent most of her life – she just folded. I felt like she wasn’t the Cat that I met in the first two books. Maybe I just don’t know what it’s like to have a parent who left me at 5 years old, but I just really didn’t get how she easily forgot who she was. It took something drastic for her to realize her mistakes. I still love her. I just wish that she showed more of her strong and feisty side.

Fortunately, this book was also told in Lucas’s perspective, and him I loved for the most part of the book. He also has his own fair share of problems, but he remained present and strong for Cat. Lucas was just so nice and sweet. He definitely knows how to make the girls swoon. I especially love the date he planned for Cat. I also love that he’s very passionate about his art. A lot of familiar characters will show up as well, and some new ones would also be introduced. Although I wish to have seen more of Alessandra and Austin.

**************************************************

OVERALL, My Not So Super Sweet Life was wonderful, but I also honestly wish for more. It was the shortest of the books in the series, and I didn’t get enough of a hit to feed my addiction to Rachel Harris’ writing. She was still her funny and entertaining self, but there’s a little more drama in this one though as compared to the first two books. Things will fall apart before they can be whole again, but I’m glad of how things turned out in the end. I definitely want a paperback to complete my series collection.

RATING:

4-star

break-1

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
Leave a Reply

