[Book Tour] Review: Smart Girls Get What They Want by Sarah Strohmeyer

smart girls get what they want banner

 Click on the banner to follow the rest of the tour

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

Title: Smart Girls Get What They Want
Author: Sarah Strohmeyer
Publisher: Balzer+Bray
Date of Publication: March 11, 2014

Acquisition: borrowed from Pinoy Book Tours

Gigi, Bea, and Neerja are best friends and total overachievers. Even if they aren’t the most popular girls in school, they aren’t too worried. After all, real life will begin once they get to their Ivy League colleges. But when an unexpected event proves they’re missing out on the full high-school experience, it’s time to come out of the honors lounge and into the spotlight. The trio makes a pact: They will each take on their greatest challenge and totally rock it.
Gigi decides to run for student rep, but she’ll have to get over her fear of public speaking—and go head-to-head with gorgeous California Will. Bea used to be one of the best skiers around, until she was derailed; it could be time for her to take the plunge again. And Neerja loves the drama club but has always stayed behind the scenes—until now.
These friends are determined to show the world that smart girls really can get what they want—but that might mean getting way more attention than they ever bargained for. . . .

banner-book-babble

You can’t always get what you want

But if you try sometimes you just might find

You get what you need

– Mick Jagger

Sarah Strohmeyer references to those song lyrics at the start of the book and I think that it best explains it. I like the whole idea of this book. Three smart girls used to look up to the smartest high schooler they have ever met, which happens to be the older sister of Neerja who is one of the three. But when they found out how the smartest people can also be the most invisible ones in high school, they decide that they needed to step out of their comfort zones in order for them to be remembered after they leave high school. They want the Ivy League schools, but they also want to shine bright before they get there.

I personally love the characters in this book. I was one of the smart girls hiding behind the shadows in high school so I found it easy to relate to them. Although I think they may be more introverted than I am, especially Gigi who gets panic attacks from speaking to a crowd. But I think what I loved most about Gigi was her love for chick lit, especially when the book mentioned books and authors I know and love. Gigi, Bea, and Neerja are probably the type of people I could easily call friends, and I loved hanging out with them through this book.

I was honestly dubious when I started reading this, but it soon sucked me in. The three girls had a lot to get through before they could achieve what each of them wanted. They all got sidetracked along the way too. But I love how they kept on going and even working really hard despite the fallbacks. And I will admit that I was very happy about Gigi’s guy choice because I totally fell in love with him somewhere in between the pages. The last page is definitely my favorite part.

**************************************************

OVERALL, Smart Girls Get What They Want is sweet, funny, and adorable. It is a story about love, friendship, and reaching for their dreams. It has a cast of complex characters that had so much to offer throughout the book. They don’t really get all of what they wanted, but they may have gotten just what they needed. It was definitely an entertaining and meaningful read.

RATING:

4-star

break-1

 

SMART GIRLS GET WHAT THEY WANT is available in National Book Store and Powerbooks. Shop online and buy eBooks at nationalbookstore.com. Follow National Book Store on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram (@nbsalert) for updates on the latest events, promos and contests.

break-1

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
Leave a Reply

