Book Review: Miyuki by Veronica Bane

Please note: This book is a sequel. I highly recommend reading the first book, Mara, before reading this one. My review will be kept as vague as possible, but some spoilers may slip out.

recommended20557540Title: Miyuki
Author: Veronica Bane
Publication date: April 1, 2014
Publisher: Black Hill Press
Series: Unusuals #2
Book Links: Goodreads / Amazon

In the town of Jericho, a group of misfit teenagers haunts the underbelly of their society. Armed with the ability to manipulate different parts of nature, these teenagers fight for their right to stay alive. In the months following an attack on their lives, danger still lurks around them. Those behind the original strike have risen from the ashes, and new powers are beginning to reveal themselves. With this mysterious threat imminent, Mara, Miyuki, and the rest of the Unusuals must stand together to fight. However, time is running out for the group, for someone—or something—is hunting them, and this time around, not all of them will survive.
“Picking up where Mara left off, Miyuki is an enthralling tale that brims with the same action-packed storytelling and complex teenage realism that fueled its predecessor. Author Veronica Bane has built Jericho into a supremely engaging world that is at once strangely mysterious and comfortingly familiar, and the pulse-pounding buildup to our unlikely heroes’ final confrontation will leave readers clamoring to know what will happen next.” -Ashley Heaton, Editor

banner-book-babble

Unlike a lot of sequels, Miyuki doesn’t spend a lot of time doing a recap on the first book, Mara. Thankfully, Mara was easily memorable that I didn’t have any trouble keeping up with the story even if it had been months since I read the first book. I think a couple of people have been wondering why the books are named after the characters in the book. I don’t really know what the author’s attention is, but as I see it, certain characters are given more focus in each book.

The Unusuals series is told in multiple third person point of views though so there isn’t really much focus on each character. Miyuki, however, was given more of a back story. I’m honestly not a big fan of Miyuki – maybe it’s my loyalty to Mara – but there are times when she would go too far and she doesn’t really bother much to listen to others. But she definitely has a good heart, and her intentions are good. And I love her ability to control water. I’m a little sad about Chris though who has been pining for her for a long time, but who is only seen as a friend. I loved seeing how Miyuki and Chris first met and how they have been together since.

Mara is also softening up a little in this book. She can still be a raging fire sometimes that burns whatever is in her way. But she has also learned to moderate herself a little and has become a source of warmth in developing relationships with the other characters in the book. She is now more open to helping out her allies and friends and listening to them. I especially love her relationship with Miles, and how it is slowly growing. They should totally be together! I think it’s adorable how a spitfire like Mara is tempered by a scrawny nerd like Miles.

I think what also makes this book or series so special is its uniqueness from most YA books nowadays.I personally feel that a lot of authors, especially female ones, focus too much on romance. I find it refreshing that the romance (if there is any) is just a sidenote to everything else that is happening all throughout the book. I also love Veronica Bane’s description for the characters because they are all so real. A lot of YA books describe so many characters as beautiful, but there is none of that here. I love seeing love for those scrawny nerds or girls with glasses and bushy hair.

One thing I must say about this book is that it is very intense. I kept on going “holy sh*t” in my head or whispering it because of everything that’s happening. There is so much action, violence, and brutality. Veronica Bane does not hold back with her descriptions. And there was this certain scene somewhere halfway through the book that made me lose it. And I just keep on asking “why why why why why.”

Lastly, I must say that I love how a little more details have been given to the abilities of the Unusuals, and why they are being hunted. I also liked meeting a couple of new Unusuals that control other things too. I know I compared this to Avatar in my Mara review, but I have found that there is more to this one. It’s not all about the basic elements anymore – fire, ground, water, etc. – but there are also other Unusuals who can control other elements of nature.

**************************************************

OVERALLMiyuki is fascinating, action-packed and intense. There aren’t a lot of books written by female authors that I would recommend to my little brother, but Miyuki, or the whole Unusuals series for that matter, will definitely be one of the few that I would tell him to read. I love how it is different from a lot of YA books nowadays. This book was definitely awesome. I must warn of the cliffhanger in the end though. But I surely adore this book and I will be looking out for the next one in the series!

RATING:

5-star

author-veronica-baneVeronica Bane grew up in San Diego, California and spent her days writing in local coffee shops and at the beach. Her writing was and has always been fed a healthy diet of chai tea lattes and film scores.
Veronica studied Creative Writing at Chapman University and now lives in Los Angeles. 
Author Links
Site / Twitter / Goodreads

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
6 thoughts on “Book Review: Miyuki by Veronica Bane

  1. whywhywhywhywhywhy was about my reaction to that scene too. Plus a lot of “hell no” and “holy sh*t” exclamations. And a few tears. God it hurt D:

    Anyway… I completely agree with everything you said! I can’t wait to see what the third book brings!

  2. Hi Francine! How’d you get Mara and Miyuki, tho? They’re not available here in the Philippines, sadly. And I really want to!

Leave a Reply

