Reflections, Gratitude, Humility, and Hope

banner-random-ramblings

Random Ramblings: Talking about random thoughts on books, blogging, myself, the world, etc. Anything under the sun~

break-1

“The best discoveries always happened to the people who weren’t looking for them.”

– Morgan Matson, Amy & Roger’s Epic Detour

I don’t really know where or how to begin this post. This is a little follow up to my recap on the Book Signing Event last Saturday and everything else that followed after. I’m a very small blog. I’m not famous. I’m just doing my own thing. So I was really surprised when I got so much attention for that post. Suddenly, I was getting tweets from fellow Filipinos I didn’t know. A lot of them related to my honest recount of that day. But merely looking at these people who were agreeing with me is just one side of the whole picture. There were others who had different experiences altogether. I must say that I was afraid of all of the attention I suddenly got.

I know I wrote that post in a sleep-deprived state and I was very depressed that day. I was so excited to meet Tahereh Mafi that I felt like my chest would explode. But when I was in line and still behind someone, an NBS staff took my books and tablet out of my hands. By the time I got to Tahereh Mafi, I only had time for a picture and then they dumped all my things back in my hands. Mafi didn’t even have time to look up. Efficient, yes. Quality service, no. In light of the situation, I stand by my opinion that NBS needs to improve their services. If they can’t handle that much people in half a day, then make more time for it. All I want is fair treatment for all, whether they be publicity or customer. And I was honestly traumatized and depressed by that situation that I haven’t picked up a book to read for days.

But they say the world comes around, and good will come to those who wait. Recently, I have been blessed with such wonderful people who openly welcomed me into their fold. They have been very supportive and very friendly throughout everything. And I’m just so so grateful. They are really awesome people. And I feel so humbled in their presence. Most of them went through what I did (maybe worse), yet they were able to keep a positive attitude about everything. Do I regret posting what I wrote? No. But there is still good in this world and I hope things will be better in the future.

Recently, I’ve been participating in the daily chats of this little book blogger group that I joined. I’m still pretty new. Most of the time, I’m the wallflower in the group – the introvert. But I already feel that these people are simply wonderful. They’re not perfect, but they’re the kind of people you would want to be friends with. And I just want to give a little shout out to each and every one of them (I hope I don’t forget anyone): Faye @ The Social Potato, Dre @ Sporadic Reads, Aimee @ Deadly Darlings/The Social Potato, Amir @ The Not-So-Literary Heiresses, Irish @ Nocturnal Reader, Shannelle @ The Art of EscapismNix @ Night Owl Reads, Ella @ The Filipina Booknote, Jules @ Jules Bookshelf.

I would also like to thank the people who were consoling during that depressing post: Olivia @ bookcometindiereadergirl0329Angela McphersonChristine @ Readerly Musings, Michelle @ In Libris VeritasNara @ Looking for the Panacea, Gelai, and whoever else commented. You all mean so much to me.

These people are all wonderful. I believe in paying it forward. Introduce others to the wonderful people you know. Who are the genuinely kindhearted and supportive book people you know? Share about them. Tweet about them. And let me know in the comments so that I can support them too. I’ve been meaning to find more awesome book bloggers out there.

I am grateful for all the people who shine their light in the midst of darkness. I am humbled by people who show goodness in bad times. I am hopeful that there will always be a silver lining.

Spread love, kindness, and awesomeness,

Francine Soleil

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

12 thoughts on “Reflections, Gratitude, Humility, and Hope

  1. I actually quite liked your post that day. Sometime I think it’s just nice for people to be blunt and honest. It wasn’t done well, it left you with a bad experience, and you shared it with others. Your post, along with the others, provided a full picture where the reader could see just how big and crazy the event was – and how it impacted the many people who attended. Nothing wrong with that!
    I think it’s great you’re paying it forward though. I definitely think it’s always to embrace the good the comes out of situations like these 🙂 And hopefully the next event you go to will make up for all the mess!

    • Thank you. A lot of people did appreciate my post, and it makes me feel better that I am able to speak out what most experienced. I just hope that the company would improve their services for next time. And yes, embrace the good. 🙂

  2. I agree with Asti! Even though it was an awful experience, I’m so glad that you wrote that post. I’ve been really lucky with the few events I’ve gone to throughout my life, but especially in the past 7 1/2 months, that your post was such an eye-opener for me to see that maybe not all events will be like that in the future and I should try not to get my hopes up too, too much – especially since the most recent event I went to (a week and a half ago, on the 19th) was so well done, and when you go to an event like that, you expect every other one you attend to be somewhere near that level of fun and professionalism. So, truly, thank you for reminding me of that!

    And thank you so, so much for the for the shout out!

    *hugs*

  3. Awww thank you so much for the shout out! I admire you for your courage in voicing out your feelings and opinuon. You post had a point, it wasn’t just ranting. NBS needs to step up their game. That was your own experience. No one can take that away from you and say it’s not valid. I’m so glad I met you and one day, hopefully, it will be in person too 🙂

    • That means a lot to me. Thank you so much. I’m so grateful for supportive people like you. And I do hope NBS would do so. I hope to meet you some day too. It might be possible in the future. 😛

  4. Wow, thank you for the shout out Francine. 🙂
    It’s your blog therefore it is expected to have your honest opinion and experience. You were just being honest and people have the right to know what really happened then. It was not your(our) fault you(we) had a bad experience. I’m happy to have met you too and hope that someday we get to meet in person too.

    • Thank you Ella. That means a lot to me. And I’m glad that I was able to voice out a lot of the concerns of people who were there. NBS probably wouldn’t take notice of it, but I do hope they improve in the future. I hope to meet you soon too. 😀

  5. Aww…I am so touched, Francine! I’m sorry I read this late. I have been slacking off with going around blogs lately. Anyway, like I’ve mentioned time and time again, let’s be kinder to one another. You deserve the website hits you got. More people should know what happened, and of course, you weren’t alone with your experience. 🙂

Leave a Reply

