Book Review: Oracle of Philadelphia by Elizabeth Corrigan

Click on the image to open the book's Goodreads page

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

recommendedTitle: Oracle of Philadelphia
Author: Elizabeth Corrigan
Publication Date: March 20, 2013
Publisher: Red Adept Publishing
Series: Earthbound Angel #1
Format: ebook
Acquisition: from the author/publisher

Purchase at: Amazon ll Barnes & Noble ll Kobo

Carrie works at a diner in South Philadelphia, dispensing advice to humans and angels wise enough to seek her counsel. But there are some problems that even the best advice can’t solve.
Her latest supplicant, Sebastian, is unique among those who have sought her aid. He sold his soul to a demon in exchange for his sister’s life, but his heart remains pure.
Carrie has lived for millennia with the knowledge that her immortality is due to the suffering of others, and she cannot bear to see another good man damned when it is within her power to prevent it.
In order to renegotiate his contract, Carrie must travel into the depths of hell and parley with the demons that control its pathways. As the cost of her journey rises, Carrie must determine how much she is willing to sacrifice to save one good soul.


banner-book-babble

Thank the heavens! A series book that does not end in an awful cliffhanger! And what more, it actually makes me want to read the next book in the series.

I’m a big fan of adaptations or retellings that can take familiar elements and make the reader see them in a whole new light. Oracle of Philadelphia surely did not disappoint in that respect as the author tells stories of angels and demons and historical accounts. I personally like how Elizabeth Corrigan introduced all the different angels and demons and told a little about their pasts. She also related them to the Greek or Roman gods among others, as well as parts they played in ancient history up to the present time. There were a lot of accounts I was familiar with, especially since I took Western History. Of course she gave them a fictional twist that it made so entertaining and humorous.

Carrie is an immortal human with a gift to see into other people’s minds and feel their emotions. She has lived countless of lives all over the world taking on different identities, and has done very little to help out anyone who needs her. I really liked Carrie and I understood why she couldn’t help everyone who came her way. And she has tried with others, but her success rate was never really high. It’s not easy to go against angels and demons after all.But when a pure-souled Sebastian, whose soul is damned, comes to see her, she can no longer sit in the sidelines. I could easily see that she has a good heart, and she’s very smart in the way she handles these supernatural beings. I loved her determination in trying to achieve what she wanted.

Bedlam, the demon of chaos, is definitely my favorite character because he is just way too adorable and so hilarious. I was pretty much sold on him from the first or second chapter. I loved him so much that I wanted him to end up with Carrie, but I think that won’t be possible due to the circumstances. But I do love the relationship that they have. They have been friends for too many years to count. I think that Bedlam made Carrie’s immortal life so much better. He can get a little crazy, but I do think he is someone I would love to spend thousands of years together. She also gave unique personalities and characteristics to the others as well.

Despite my desire for Bedlam and Carrie to be together, I was actually pleasantly surprised that romantic parts did not take center stage. Instead, I saw all of the intricate and complicated relationships that these beings have. Everything was explained really well, and it surely fit the story and how each character reacted to the situations at hand.

I think the only problem I had with this book is how slow I went with it. It’s quite short and truly interesting, but it did not fully hold my attention. I’m not sure if it’s that I’m still in a reading slump or if the book is just really slow-paced. Or maybe I couldn’t read it so effortlessly because of all the facts, and historical tie-ins. So maybe this isn’t a good book if you’re looking for something light. But it is surely fun. I think I would definitely read it again when I’m feeling a lot better. And in order to prepare for the sequel. It’s already published but I don’t think I can fit it in my reading schedule at the moment. 😛 But I am excited about it because the story will focus on Bedlam.

**************************************************

OVERALL, Oracle of Philadelphia is a fascinating and entertaining take on the oracle, as well as the angels and demons, and their plausible, but fictional interactions with history. Elizabeth Corrigan has a sense of humor that had me thoroughly amused, but she has also successfully written a cast of characters that I was surely delighted to meet. She created her own world, while keeping a lot of common facts in place. I would certainly recommend this, and I will definitely be looking forward to reading the sequel in the future. Although I might not recommend this to someone who is sensitive about religion, as she questions certain aspects of it.

RATING:

4.5-star

And here’s the book trailer:

break-1

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
4 thoughts on “Book Review: Oracle of Philadelphia by Elizabeth Corrigan

  1. I really like the cover of this one! Looks super nice! I don’t think this is a book I’ll currently get myself into as I’m still in my “i need fluffy reads”-phase, but this looks nice. I’m glad you enjoyed it too!

  2. Ooooh, this sounds pretty well done from what I can see here. Romances usually irk me because they always take center stage in most books. I hate it when everything else revolves around them because other factors depreciate in quality. So when it’s there but in the background? That’s really nice (oftentimes things like this makes me yearn for them more haha). Plus, it seems written well regarding the subject of Oracles. I read ASK ME a few weeks ago (same subject) but it was written in quite a mediocre way… at least this is something to look forward to in that respect!
    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

  3. You had me at NO CLIFFHANGER. Nowadays, I respect an author who can do that with a series. If readers really wants to continue on, they will, cliffhanger or no. I love the premise of this too, I’m a paranormal and urban fantasy junkie so will be putting this on my wishlist! Great review, Francine!

Leave a Reply

