ARC Book Review: Burning Gold by Clea Calloway

burning gold

Click on the image to open the book’s Goodreads page

Title: Burning Gold
Author: Clea Calloway
Publication Date: May 9, 2014
Publisher: Createspace/Clea Calloway
Series: N/A
Format: ebook
Acquisition: from the author

Purchase at: Amazon ll Barnes & Noble

This is a story of family, love and loss.  It takes a look at a strong young woman, Jennifer Ann, and her journey in life.  As a small child life was idyllic. Then, through her teens, things unravel when horrific and tragic events occur, leaving her in a new home in a new school and with new rules. With the help of her family she gains some control again in her life and finds her tremendous gift as an artist.  When the handsome Ashton Holt Parker, Jr. enters her life she knows that love and happiness could be hers — if he doesn’t discover her secret and her lies from her dark past.


banner-book-babble

When I agreed to read this book, I thought that I was signing up for a light, fun read with maybe a little drama. Yes, it was still light and fun, but the plot was actually a lot thicker than I expected it to be, stemming from conflicts that are decades old. I have been in a reading slump for a while, but this book made me want to read it to the end that I stayed up until 4 or 5am to finish it. Although I think it would have gone a lot better if I hadn’t read the long synopsis (not the one above).

“Pappy? I ask when they get there. “Why don’t my crayons look like these colors?”

“Well you see Little Nugget,” he replied. “These here colors, these are real special. These are made by God’s crayons.”

Jenni Ann was such an adorable child that I was easily endeared to her, especially when stories about her were told throughout the book. She was sweet and funny, but sadly I can’t say the same for her teenage years, especially after the tragedy that befell her family. She made a lot of mistakes before she was able to make things better, but once she has found her passion for painting, her life started looking up again. But there’s more to her life than she knows it and she has to look at her family’s past to find out.

I think that Clea’s writing style was easy to follow. The book was told in two POVs with timelines that skipped a lot between childhood to adulthood. However, I think that the prose was quite simple that I was able to breeze through the book. Her writing was wonderful, especially when she describes the scenery or paintings that Jenni Ann sees or creates as an artist. I feel the colors come alive, and she has instilled this sense of wonder over such beauties. She was also able to make me laugh out loud a couple of times, and kept me holding on until the end. Although I think there were a couple of cliches and predictable plot points. I think may have given away too much already somewhere in the middle and I already knew where the book was going. I still read it through anyway.

I already mentioned above how I liked the heroine, Jenni Ann, despite all the wrong things she did. I also liked a lot of the other characters as well. I must admit though that I was quite doubtful about Ashton’s character at first. I think he was a bit too straightforward, although he is a reporter so maybe that has something to do with it. Will was also a really good character. I also liked him as a child. Although he also had a lot of problems, he was still a good person all throughout. I must say though that I think Jenni and Will’s relationship should have been fleshed out more before that big thing in the end.

**************************************************

OVERALL, Burning Gold is an entertaining and effortless read with a thicker plot than the cover suggests. A lot was revealed early on that it was easy to tell where the story was going, but the characters and writing made me easily finish it. Despite the tragedies and drama, I would still say that this was a light read so I would recommend it if you were looking for something like that.

P.S. It’s a little good for reading slumps or book hangovers if you just want to finish something quickly. 😛

RATING:

3.5-star

break-1

signature

gmail bloglovin goodreads instagram tumblr twitter facebook

Disclaimer:

  • This is all based on personal opinion, and as much as I’m open to other people’s opinions, I hope you understand that this is based on what I feel. I avoid giving out spoilers as much as possible, too.
  • I do not own most of the images I use, and some may be subject to editing.
4 thoughts on “ARC Book Review: Burning Gold by Clea Calloway

  1. That cover is just lovely, there’s so many incredibly artist covers around lately, so much more attractive than the smouldering couples and weird chicks. Awesome review, I’m always looking for quick reads in between all the series and dystopians I tend to favour. Thanks for putting it on my radar.

  2. Sounds like this is a book I should read to get out of my ugh literature slump?! xD No I’m reading Just One Day. Which is nice. And adorable. Plus reading lots of arcs at the same time. Anyways, back to this one. The cover is really nice, very artistic indeed. Maybe this is a book I should read sometime. I’m always in for quick reads 😛

  3. Pingback: First Book Review! | Clea Was Here

  4. Really nice and detailed review, Francine. I’m glad this book got you out of your reading slump. I know how that feels and it’s such a sigh of relief when we find a book that holds our interest long enough to get to the end. If there’s one thing that I can see about this book, it’s that it has a lot of character development from Jenni Ann, and who doesn’t love those? I feel like I’d be frustrated with her if I read this, but at least I know I’ll be left fulfilled when she sees her mistakes and redeems herself 😀
    Faye at The Social Potato Reviews

Leave a Reply

